Romantic Music History

This book presents the most up-to-date biography of the Spanish composer Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909) and is the first to offer a thorough, annotated bibliography in addition to an extensive discography, chronology, and list of works. The bibliography treats not only articles, books, dissertations, and exhibition publications, but also includes numerous reviews of his operas and other works. An overview of the nature and location of primary sources and the holdings of various archives (in England, France, Belgium, Germany, and Spain) is an especially useful feature of this book that is not available anywhere else. Alb niz's letters, manuscripts, library, photographs, and other important documents and personal effects are discussed. This guide to research sheds welcome light on one of the most important composers in the history of Spanish music, one whose works won the admiration of Faure, Debussy, and Messiaen, and exerted a profound influence on de Falla, Turina, and Rodrigo.

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

This work is part of a series which presents information on composers. Each volume offers annotated lists of all writings in major languages plus lists of works by the composers, biographical sketches and guides to library resources, organizations and specialists.

Franz Liszt has become for music historians the archetypical genius--able to upstage such titans as Chopin and Thalberg on the piano, then moving with ease into composition and effortlessly traveling outside the boundaries of his age with wildly original music. Such a figure will always be difficult to evaluate and thus this comprehensive bibliography and guide will be all the more valuable for student and scholar.

Detailed bibliography of important composer of Romantic instrumental works.

A comprehensive annotated bibliography of all the printed materials on Gioachino Rossini, the famous 19th-century composer

A bibliography of Schumann first editions. Includes photos of title pages.

Acknowledgements To Users of this Research Guide I. Introduction II. Introducing Wagner: Compendia and Other Survey Studies III. Researching Wagner: Reference Works of Various Kinds IV. The Documentary Legacy V. Wagner's Life and Character VI. Wagner as Composer: Studies in Techniques, Styles, and Influences VII. Wagner as Music-Dramatist VIII. Wagner as Instrumental and Vocal Composer and Arranger IX. Performing Wagner X. Wagner as Poet, Prose Writer, and Philosopher XI. Criticizing Wagner XII. Wagner and Culture, Past and Present XIII. After Wagner: Bayreuth, the Festivals, and Wagner's Descendents Index