Philosophy

While titled a "dictionary," this work compares favorably to many encyclopedias with respect to the number and length of entries. The articles were reviewed and selected by an extremely distinguished editorial board. Includes cross-references, an appendix of special symbols and logical notation, and an index of selected names.

This volume is a compendium of 48 medium to long articles introducing important aspects of Persian, Indian, Buddhist, Chinese, Japanese, and Islamic Philosophy. Each article includes a bibliography for further reading, and the work as a whole contains a glossary and a general index.

This volume presents 56 articles, each covering a single philosopher in the Continental tradition (beginning with Kant). The typical article is 10-12 pages long, and is followed by a "Writings," by the subject of the article, "References," and/or a bibliography of "Further reading." There is an extensive general index.

Originally published in 1960, this updated version covers central figures, movement, and ideas in European philosophy. The articles vary widely in length, contain no notes or bibliographies. However, the authors are among the most respected of the Anglo-American tradition. Contains cross-references, with main entries marked in bold through out the text.

This is a condensed version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. It contains more than 2,000 entries which are typically transcribed from the initial paragraphs of the entries in the complete Routledge encyclopedia. Entries include cross-references, and usually one or two citations for further reading.

This two volume set contains over 600 entries on 18th century British philosophers, as well as historians, scientists, theologians, literary figures, and more. The work contains entries on numerous minor figures which extends its coverage well beyond the standard dictionary/encyclopedias. It includes bibliographies of the work of the entries' subjects, secondary literature, and further reading.

This two volume set contains over 400 entries on 17th century British philosophers, as well as historians, scientists, theologians, literary figures, and more. The work contains entries on numerous minor figures which make this work go well beyond the standard dictionary/encyclopedias. It also includes bibliographies of the work of the entries' subjects, secondary literature, and "further reading."

This five volume set contains 311 articles on important ideas which have had multidisciplinary impacts. Each article is followed by a bibliography and several "see also" references. It provides both a standard table of contents and an analytical table of contents which divides the entries into seven conceptual categories. Volume five is an index.

This single volume work contains 57 articles, covering eight important topics or movements within Continental philosophy. Each of the eight sections begins with an introductory article and is then composed of articles on specific philosophers. Articles contain a bibliography of "Writings" by the subject of the article and a list of references and further reading.

Composed of four volumes containing 281 article-length entries on a variety of practical issues in ethics, as well as central theoretical topics. Each article is prefaced with a glossary and a statement defining the topic and is followed by cross-references and a bibliography.

Composed of two volumes containing 435 articles, often by the world's leading anglophone philosophers. Articles cover topics in metaethics, moral theory, moral problems, and social, political, and legal philosophy. Bibliographies follow each article. There is a general index and an index of authors cited in the bibliographies, as well as cross-references.

This single volume presents 166 articles in 764 pages, covering the four broad tendencies within the phenomenological movement, national traditions, phenomenological tendencies within non-philosophical disciplines, major topics in phenomenology, leading phenomenologists, and other related topics. Each article includes a bibliography; there is a general index.

This is the grand old encyclopedia of Anglo-American academic philosophy. While it is now clearly dated, it remains a crucial introductory source for understanding philosophy as it was practiced by Anglo-American academic philosophers throughout most of the twentieth century. Comparing its entries with those of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy(1998) is instructive.

This volume contains approximately 340 entries covering academic disciplines, critical terms, and important writers related to postmodernism. The work avoids a simple, normative definition of the field, and instead attempts to convey the variety of conflicting ideas within and approaches to the field.

The encyclopedia is composed of nine volumes plus a tenth index volume. It contains 2,054 entries, providing a broad and comprehensive coverage of the field. It beginning with the Anglo-American academic mainstream, but embracing a much wider domain than its predecessor (The Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Paul Edwards, ed.), also includes 400 entries on non-European philosophy.