It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein"They Say / I Say" identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
Effective Writing for Health Professionals by Megan-Jane JohnstoneHealth professionals are increasingly expected to conduct and publish their research, apply for grants, write newsletters, liaise with the media, present conference papers and contribute articles to professional journals. Writing well is an essential professional skill and writing to publish is an important aspect of professional development. But how do you get published? Where do you start? How do you know if your writing is good enough and what can you learn to make it better? Effective Writing for Health Professionals is an invaluable insider's guide to publishing within the health profession, providing handy tips on: · Getting started · The writing process · Winning habits of successful authors · Promoting your work · Author rights and responsibilities Many would-be writers - students, administrators, clinicians, managers and academics alike - are often intimidated at the thought of writing. This book will help to overcome this writing block and introduce aspiring authors to the world of writing and publishing in a professional capacity. Written by a best-selling academic author, Effective Writing for Health Professionals provides insights and strategies for publishing designed for nurses, midwives and health professionals.
Publication Date: 2004
Writing skills in practice: A practical guide for health professionals by Diana WilliamsWriting Skills in Practice: A Practical Guide for Health Professionals; Contents; Introduction; The Nature of Written Communication; Communicating Effectively through the Written Word; Part One: Writing for Clinical Practice; 1 Purpose of Written Material; 2 How to Record Information; 3 The Legal Framework; Clinical Skills in Context:; 4 Record Keeping; 5 Letters and Reports; 6 Information Leaflets For Clients; Part Two: Writing for Teaching and Learning; 7 Writing as an Aid to Learning; 8 Preparing Materials for Teaching; Teaching and Learning Skills in Context:; 9 Note-taking; 10 Essays.
11 Assessment12 Dissertations; 13 Research Projects; Part Three: Writing for Publication; 14 Developing an Idea; 15 Managing Your Time Effectively; 16 Determining Your Style; 17 Getting the Best Out of Your Personal Computer; 18 Presenting Your Work; 19 Protecting Your Rights; Publication Skills in Context:; 20 Journal Articles; 21 Books; 22 Articles for the Media; References; Index.
Publication Date: 2002
Writing for Social Scientists by Howard Saul Becker; Pamela RichardsStudents and researchers all write under pressure, and those pressuresmost lamentably, the desire to impress your audience rather than to communicate with themoften lead to pretentious prose, academic posturing, and, not infrequently, writers block. Sociologist Howard S. Becker has written the classic book on how to conquer these pressures and simply write. First published nearly twenty years ago, Writing for Social Scientists has become a lifesaver for writers in all fields, from beginning students to published authors. Beckers message is clear: in order to learn how to write, take a deep breath and then begin writing. Revise. Repeat. It is not always an easy process, as Becker wryly relates. Decades of teaching, researching, and writing have given him plenty of material, and Becker neatly exposes the foibles of academia and its publish or perish atmosphere. Wordiness, the passive voice, inserting a the way in which when a simple how will doall these mechanisms are a part of the social structure of academic writing. By shrugging off such impedimentsor at the very least, putting them aside for a few hourswe can reform our work habits and start writing lucidly without worrying about grades, peer approval, or the literature.In this new edition, Becker takes account of major changes in the computer tools available to writers today, and also substantially expands his analysis of how academic institutions create problems for them. As competition in academia grows increasingly heated, Writing for Social Scientists will provide solace to a new generation of frazzled, would-be writers.
Publication Date: 2007
Evaluating Research in Academic Journals-5th Ed by Fred PyrczakThis supplementary guide is for students who are learning how to evaluate published reports of empirical research. Numerous excerpts from journals in the social and behavioral sciences provide examples that allow students to learn the practical aspects of evaluating research. By de-emphasizing jargon, this book allows students to begin evaluating research with confidence. New to this edition: This edition contains more than 60 new examples from recently published research. Also new: Minor changes have been made throughout for consistency with the latest edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian et al.A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today’s writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
How to Prepare a Dissertation Proposal by David R. Krathwohl; Nick L. SmithWhat are the core elements of a strong proposal? How can I accent the strengths of my study design? What is the best way to get my proposal reviewed and approved? You will find the answers to these and other key issues in this assembly manual for crafting a complete and convincing dissertation proposal.
Call Number: LB2369 .K723
Publication Date: 2005
Step-by-Step Cover Letters by Evelyn U. SalvadorFinally, a companion to the groundbreaking Step-by-Step Resumes workbook! Step-by-Step Cover Letters uses a foolproof system of paragraph starters and an overall framework to help readers easily build outstanding cover letters that will get interviews and job offers. Professional resume writer and personal branding strategist Evelyn Salvador leads you through the steps of writing a compelling first paragraph, showing the value you bring, developing and communicating your brand in your letter, summarizing your key accomplishments, editing your letter, and compelling the employer to pick up the phone and call you for an interview. The included CD-ROM is chock-full of cover letter samples and templates, as well as letter-building worksheets and other tools.
Winning Grants Step by Step by Tori O'Neal-McElrath; Lynn Kanter; Lynn Jenkins EnglishStrong grant proposal writing made easy From small startups to established national organizations, nonprofits large and small depend on grant funding to survive and thrive. Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, and Writing Successful Proposals has long been the go-to resource for individuals and organizations looking for a clear, easy-to-follow approach to tackling the grant-writing process and winning funds. Now, in this revised Fifth Edition, changes and developments in the not-for-profit sector are integrated into the time-tested grant-writing formula that has proven effective time and again. New to this edition, you'll find an expanded discussion of the importance of relationship building, social media, and online resources to successful nonprofit funding. The text has also been revised to include guidance for nonprofit program budgets for both foundation and public funding grants. Never before has Winning Grants Step by Step been so easy to comprehend. Updated worksheets and forms will improve your comprehension and make your grant proposals stronger and more successful than ever. Learn the proven step-by-step approach to writing strong grant proposals for foundation grants and public funds Complete worksheets and activities to practice your grant-writing skills and break the process down into easy pieces Understand how to integrate your ideas and insights with research and facts to demonstrate your organization's potential Learn the best approaches to building relationships and networking both in-person and online to push strong grant proposals into the winner's circle This guide is perfect as an introduction for the novice grantseeker or a refresher for the more experienced. Whether your organization needs only a thousand dollars or several million, following this step-by-step process will improve your ability to transform an idea that needs financial support into a proposal that deserves to be funded.
Publication Date: 2019
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by Barbara Faan Holtzclaw; Carole Nnp Faan Kenner; Marlene Aprn Nnp WaldenThis accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors-an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant-readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing by A. Yavuz OrucInvestigators, their home institutions, and funding agencies play significant roles in the development and outcomes of scientific projects. Submitting a proposal to a funding agency is only one dimension of a multivariable and complex funding process, and understanding this is a good first step toward unlocking the puzzle behind why some research proposals receive awards while others are declined. The Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing offers researchers and research administrators a broad perspective on the process of initiating and conducting funded scientific research projects. Written for students and researchers in all fields and disciplines, this reference offers a holistic approach to conceiving and then converting new ideas into effective proposals. It focuses on the technical aspects of writing proposals rather than the fund-raising issues. Chapters provide full coverage of the scientific method, including information on how scientific research should be conducted. Providing the tools necessary to organize ideas and obtain the funds needed to effectively manage projects, the Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing includes: 56 figures and 25 tables to help convey key ideas More than 150 citations that provide pointers to additional sources for further reading Examples to help the reader ease through more abstract concepts End-of-chapter questions to stimulate further examination and comprehension
Proposal Writing by Soraya M. Coley; Cynthia A. ScheinbergThis book has been updated and revised to help beginning students and grantwriters write an effective proposal, which increases their chances of success. The Third Edition of Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship is not an exhaustive text on proposal writing; its purpose is to provide a solid foundation upon which to add years of experience to fine-tune grant writing skills. Authors Soraya M. Coley and Cynthia A. Scheinberg de-mystify the grant writing process and provide a guide to writing that is as jargon-free and simple to use as possible.
Developing Effective Research Proposals by Keith F. PunchSuccessful research requires effective and thorough preparation. In this expanded and updated Second Edition of Developing Effective Research Proposals, author Keith F. Punch offers an indispensable guide to the issues involved in proposal development and in presenting a well-considered plan for the execution of research. Dealing with both qualitative and quantitative approaches to empirical research across the social sciences, the Second Edition comprehensively covers the topics and concerns relevant to the subject and is organized around three central themes: What is a research proposal, who reads proposals and why; How can we go about developing a proposal?; and What might a finished proposal look like?
1. Access the 2004 ed. through UM Librraies catalog at https://umaryland.on.worldcat.org/oclc/670482202?databaseList=638
2. Order the 2011 ed. through UBorrow at http://uborrow.relaisd2d.com/index.html
Handbook of Career Development in Academic Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences by Laura Weiss Roberts; Donald M. HiltyHandbook of Career Development in Academic Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences is an essential guide to everything that they don't teach in traditional medical and psychiatric training about how to begin -- and further develop -- an academic career. Covering many aspects of early career development that the authors wish they had been told about when they started their own academic careers, this book is densely packed with practical information that every academic psychiatrist or behavioral scientist can use right away. The Handbook of Career Development in Academic Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences is both a training manual and a guide for academicians in the real world. In six main sections written by 36 expert contributors, this eminently practical text covers most everything that academic faculty members do: * Getting Started -- Approaching a career in academic psychiatry, including key attributes of faculty members and strategies for academically oriented residents in psychiatry, women and minorities, and psychologists and other health professionals* Getting There -- Preparing effective curriculum vitaes, interviewing for academic positions, and evaluating offers* Once You're There -- Managing your time, creating and understanding budgets, aligning your goals with those of colleagues/department/institution, understanding and preparing for the process of academic promotion, negotiating with the chairperson, and developing ethics skills* Becoming an Educator -- Giving difficult feedback, teaching in small groups, writing test questions, conducting assessments, and writing letters of recommendation* Developing Your Academic Skills -- Conducting research, evaluating clinical research studies, publishing manuscripts, being a manuscript reviewer, navigating the grant application process, and approaching research, evaluation, and continuous quality improvement projects* Continuing to Grow Professionally -- Getting and maintaining certification, being a good mentor and colleague, networking, and creating a positive early career environment Written for a broad audience, from academic psychiatrists and psychologists, medical physicians, and private practice teachers to residents/fellows, medical students, department chairs, and deans, the unique Handbook of Career Development in Academic Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences offers helpful illustrations and extensive references, worksheets, and web resources to prepare psychiatrists and other mental health professionals for fulfilling, successful careers in both private practice and academia. Quite simply, Handbook of Career Development in Academic Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences has earned its place among the core texts for faculty development courses in psychiatry and medicine.