Research Guides: Patents and Trademarks: Historical Patents

Websites

Russ Allen's site for OCR search of what is NOT searchable in other databases Russ Allen, a computer programmer near Chicago, and general guru for searching bulk data, has made OCR search available for pre - 1976 US patents and trademarks.
PTRCA Historical Patents and Trademarks The Patent & Trademark Resource Centers Association has a set of databases of old atents and trademarks ***Currently not accessible 3/4/2018; we are investigating***
Cincinnati Inventors Database Indexes Cincinnati area inventors' patents from 1814-1873. This database allows browsing by inventor or invention and searching by inventor.
Historical Idaho Patents Database Search by inventor, assignee, city, title, patent number, or date for Idaho patents from 1866-1928.
Iowa Inventors Database Browse by location or search by keyword Iowa inventions from 1843-2006.
Nevada Inventors Database The goal of this work-in-progress is to include all Nevada patents from the 1860s to 1975. The current database includes up to the 1920s, and is browseable by the inventor's last name or issuing year, and searchable by patent number, inventor, city, or patent title.
South Carolina Inventors Searchable by inventor, invention, residence, date, and patent number. Includes patents from 1796 to 1896.
Women Inventors Index 1790-1895 This database can be searched by place or year, browsed by assignee, inventor, state, or subject, and supports keyword searching for inventor and title. Also included here are lists of the women with the most patents, patents by subject, patents by state, and African American female inventors.
Google Patents
Wyoming Inventors Database Browse or search by inventor name, or try the advanced search for further search options such as city, patent number, and date searching. Includes patents from 1867-present.

College Park Patent & Trademark Resource Center

The Patent & Trademark Depository Library was renamed the Patent & Trademark Resource Center in October 2011.

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Library at the University of Mary, College Park became a Patent and Trademark Depository Library in 1984.