Research Guides: Mathematics: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Print Books

The following resources may be helpful for looking up quick facts, definitions, and explanations for computing principles, theories, and applications.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics 6th Ed. by Richard Earl and James Nicholson
ISBN: 9780192584052
Publication Date: 2021
The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics 4th ed. by David Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: UMCP STEM Stacks QA5 .P4425 2008
ISBN: 9780141030234
includes all branches of pure and applied mathematics, from algebra to mechanics and from number theory to statistics.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics by John Daintith, Richard Rennie
Call Number: STEM Stacks QA5 .F35 2005
ISBN: 081605651X
Dictionary of important and commonly used terms used in mathematics
Math dictionary with solutions: a math review by Chris Kornegay
Call Number: STEM Stacks | QA5 .K692 1999
ISBN: 0761917853
Quick reference for a range of mathematical topics from arithmetic to calculus. Each topic is provided with a definition, explanation, and problem-solving examples
Table of Integrals, Series, and Products by Daniel Zwillinger (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780123849342
Publication Date: 2014-09-18
Encyclopaedia of mathematics by managing editor M. Hazewinkel
Call Number: STEM Stacks QA5 .M3713 1988
ISBN: 1556080107
A ten-volume set of encyclopedias offering short explanatory articles on a wide variety of mathematical topics. Updated and annotated translation of the Soviet "Mathematical Encyclopaedia".
CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics by Eric W. Weisstein
Call Number: STEM Stacks QA5 .W45 2003
ISBN: 1584883472
Provides succinct explanation for mathematical facts, formulas, and definitions. Also available online.
Guide to information sources in mathematics and statistics by Martha A. Tucker and Nancy D. Anderson
Call Number: STEM Stacks QA41.7 .T83 2004
ISBN: 1563087014
Bibliography of print and electronic resources in mathematics and statistics.
Standard handbook of engineering calculations by Tyler G. Hicks, editor-in-chief
Call Number: STEM Stacks TA332 .S73 2005
ISBN: 0071427937
Handbook of calculation procedures for solving common engineering problems.

Online Resources

Wolfram MathWorld
A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.
S.O.S. Mathematics
Free, online resource offering quick summaries of mathematical topics, tables, and formulas.
Wikipedia: Mathematics
Wikipedia's Mathematics section contains many encyclopedia articles on topics ranging from axiomatization to wavelets.
MathWorks MATLAB Overview
Offers videos and webinars for learning basic and advanced features of MATLAB.
Science & Engineering Encyclopedia
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions, calculators and material data. Organized by A to Z, subject and interlinked.