Research Guides: Computer Science: Databases & Articles

Why use Databases?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. All databases that UM Libraries subscribes to can be accessed through Database Finder.

What if there is no full text?

Don't panic! You can:

Request article from another library

Where can I find articles on my topic?

The UM Libraries subscribe to over 300 databases!!! The following databases are the primary electronic resources available for locating journal articles in computer science. All databases that UMCP subscribes to can be accessed through Database Finder

ACM Digital Library
Full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. Publications include journals, magazines, transactions, special interest group (SIG) newsletters, proceedings, and publications by affiliated organizations. Contains citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. 1985-present.
IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Includes access to Bell Labs Technical journal Archive (BLTJA) 1922-2015
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Established as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Selected volumes available from 1973-1996,2005-2011,2014

Multidisciplinary Resources

While not explicitly devoted to computer science topics, the following related, general, and/or multidisciplinary databases may prove useful in your research.

MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews on the Web
Covering mathematical literature since 1940 this international database provides bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature from 1700 current journals, books and other original documents. Books, journals, and proceedings in the field of mathematics. ISSN and ISBN searches are not available in this resource.
Some of the citations are linked to the full text in online journals.
ScienceDirect
Peer-reviewed, full text database containing electronic book and journal titles covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. In addition to keyword searches, the image search and value added content associated with the publication can be found in the form of audio, video and datasets. Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Dates of abstracting and indexing vary. Full text prior to 1995 often going back to vol. 1, iss. 1
Author searches are done on the last name only.
Subject searches are supported, but subjects are not presented within the records.
Truncation is not supported in phrases.
Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
EBSCO eBook Collection
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Collection strengths include computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, and civil rights law and history.