Neuroscience

This database contains 10,168 natural face photographs and several measures for 2,222 of the faces, including memorability scores, computer vision and psychology attributes, and landmark point annotations. The face photographs are JPEGs with 72 pixels/in resolution and 256-pixel height.

The ADFES is a rich stimulus set comprising 648 filmed emotional expressions. The set features displays of nine emotions: the six ‘basic’ emotions (anger, disgust, fear, joy, sadness, and surprise), as well as contempt, pride and embarrassment expressed by 22 Northern-European and Mediterranean models (10 female, 12 male).

The American Multiracial Face Database contains 110 faces (smiling and neutral expression poses) with mixed-race heritage and accompanying ratings of those faces by naive observers that are freely available to academic researchers. The faces were rated on attractiveness, emotional expression, racial ambiguity, masculinity, racial group membership(s), gender group membership(s), warmth, competence, dominance, and trustworthiness.

Our Database of Faces, (formerly 'The ORL Database of Faces'), contains a set of face images taken between April 1992 and April 1994 at the lab. There are ten different images of each of 40 distinct subjects. For some subjects, the images were taken at different times, varying the lighting, facial expressions (open / closed eyes, smiling / not smiling) and facial details (glasses / no glasses). All the images were taken against a dark homogeneous background with the subjects in an upright, frontal position (with tolerance for some side movement).

The Basel Face Database (BFD) is built upon portrait photographs of forty different individuals. All these photographs have been manipulated to appear more or less agentic and communal (Big Two personality dimensions) as well as open to experience, conscientious, extraverted, agreeable, and neurotic (Big Five personality dimensions). Thus, the database consists of forty photographs of different individuals and 14 variations of each of them signaling different personalities. Using this database therefore allows to investigate the impact of personality on different outcome variables in a very systematic way.

The Bogazici Face Database is a database of Turkish undergraduate student targets. High-resolution standardized photographs were taken and supported by the following materials: (a) basic demographic and appearance-related information, (b) two types of landmark configurations (for Webmorph and geometric morphometrics (GM)), (c) facial width-to-height ratio (fWHR) measurement, (d) information on photography parameters, (e) perceptual norms provided by raters.

The Child Affective Facial Expressions Set (CAFE) is the first large and representative set of children posing a variety of affective facial expressions that can be used for scientific research. The set is made up of nearly 1200 photographs of over 100 children (ages 2-8) making 7 different facial expressions - happy, angry, sad, fearful, surprise, neutral, and disgust.

The dataset contains images of people collected from the web by typing common given names into Google Image Search. The coordinates of the eyes, the nose and the center of the mouth for each frontal face are provided in a ground truth file. This information can be used to align and crop the human faces or as a ground truth for a face detection algorithm. The dataset has 10,524 human faces of various resolutions and in different settings, e.g. portrait images, groups of people, etc. Profile faces or very low-resolution faces are not labeled.

The Complex Emotion Expression Database (CEED), a digital stimulus set of 243 basic and 237 complex emotional facial expressions. The stimuli represent six basic expressions (angry, disgusted, fearful, happy, sad, and surprised) and nine complex expressions (affectionate, attracted, betrayed, brokenhearted, contemptuous, desirous, flirtatious, jealous, and lovesick) that were posed by Black and White formally trained, young adult actors.

The Chicago Face Database was developed at the University of Chicago by Debbie S. Ma, Joshua Correll, and Bernd Wittenbrink. The CFD is intended for use in scientific research. It provides high-resolution, standardized photographs of male and female faces of varying ethnicity between the ages of 17-65. Extensive norming data are available for each individual model. These data include both physical attributes (e.g., face size) as well as subjective ratings by independent judges (e.g., attractiveness). The database consists of a main image set and several extension sets.

The CMU Multi-PIE face database contains more than 750,000 images of 337 people recorded in up to four sessions over the span of five months. Subjects were imaged under 15 viewpoints and 19 illumination conditions while displaying a range of facial expressions.

The Cohn-Kanade AU-Coded Facial Expression Database affords a test bed for research in automatic facial image analysis and is available for use by the research community. Image data consist of approximately 500 image sequences from 100 subjects. Accompanying meta-data include annotation of FACS action units and emotion-specified expressions. Algorithm performance in Cohn-Kanade was first reported by Cohn, Zlochower, Lien, & Kanade (1999) and Tian, Kanade, and Cohn (2001).

The Computer Vision Laboratory (CVL) Face Database contains photographs of 114 persons approximately 18 years of age, 7 images per person.

The Dartmouth Database of Children's Faces contains images of 40 male and 40 female models between the ages of 6 and 16. Models are photographed on a black background and are wearing black bibs and black hats to cover hair and ears. They are photographed from 5 different camera angles and pose 8 different facial expressions. Models were rated by independent raters and are ranked for the overall believability of their poses.

The Face Database consists of 575 individual faces ranging from ages 18 to 93. Our database was developed to be more representative of age groups across the lifespan, with a special emphasis on recruiting older adults. The resulting database has faces of 218 adults age 18-29, 76 adults age 30-49, 123 adults age 50-69, and 158 adults age 70 and older.

The London Set contains Images are of 102 adult faces 1350x1350 pixels in full color.

FACES is a set of images of naturalistic faces of 171 young (n = 58), middle-aged (n = 56), and older (n = 57) women and men displaying each of six facial expressions: neutrality, sadness, disgust, fear, anger, and happiness. The database comprises two sets of pictures per person and per facial expression (a vs. b set), resulting in a total of 2,052 images.

The Faces and Motion Exeter Database (FAMED) is a video database of 32 male actors for use in psychological research. Each actor was filmed from two viewpoints (full-face and three-quarter) whilst they performed a series of facial motions including the telling of three jokes, a short conversation, six facial expressions (smiling, anger, fear, disgust, surprise and sadness) and rigid motion such as head rotation from left to right and up and down. The actors performed all actions three times; once with no headgear, once wearing a swimming cap to hide hair cues and once whilst wearing a wig.

Face Research Toolkit: A free and open-source toolkit of three-dimensional models and software to study face perception. Contains 8 manipulatable facial expression models.

The FEI Face Database is a Brazilian face database that contains a set of face images taken between June 2005 and March 2006 at the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory of FEI in São Bernardo do Campo, São Paulo, Brazil. There are 14 images for each of 200 individuals, a total of 2800 images. All images are colourful and taken against a white homogenous background in an upright frontal position with profile rotation of up to about 180 degrees. Scale might vary about 10% and the original size of each image is 640x480 pixels. All faces are mainly represented by students and staff at FEI, between 19 and 40 years old with distinct appearance, hairstyle, and adorns. The number of male and female subjects are exactly the same and equal to 100.

The FERET database was collected in 15 sessions between August 1993 and July 1996. The database contains 1564 sets of images for a total of 14,126 images that includes 1199 individuals and 365 duplicate sets of images. A duplicate set is a second set of images of a person already in the database and was usually taken on a different day.

An image database containing face images showing a number of subjects performing the six different basic emotions defined by Eckman & Friesen. The database has been developed in an attempt to assist researchers who investigate the effects of different facial expressions.

An index of face databases, their features, and how to access them has been unavailable. The “Face Image Meta-Database” (fIMDb) provides researchers with the tools to find the face images best suited to their research. The fIMDb is available from: https://cliffordworkman.com/resources/

The Labeled Faces in the Wild is a database of face photographs designed for studying the problem of unconstrained face recognition. The data set contains more than 13,000 images of faces collected from the web.

These sets contain stimuli for use in our studies on cross-racial face recognition and identification. The sets are available by email request to Dr. Meissner for those seeking to conduct research on face identification. Our stimuli currently include African American and Caucasian male faces in two poses (smiling w/ casual clothing and non-smiling with burgundy sweatshirt).

The MMI Facial Expression Database is an ongoing project, that aims to deliver large volumes of visual data of facial expressions to the facial expression analysis community. The database consists of over 2900 videos and high-resolution still images of 75 subjects.

The MR2 is a multi-racial, mega-resolution database of facial stimuli, created in collaboration with the psychologist Kurt Gray and the photographer Titus Brooks Heagins. It contains 74 full-color images of men and women of European, African, and East Asian descent.

The MUCT Face Database consists of 3755 faces with 76 manual landmarks. The database was created to provide more diversity of lighting, age, and ethnicity than currently available landmarked 2D face databases.

The NimStem Set of Facial Expressions is a broad dataset comprising of 672 images of naturally posed photographs by 43 professional actors (18 female, 25 male) ranging from 21 to 30 years old. Actors from a diverse sample were chosen to portray emotional expressions within this dataset. To be precise, the actors were African-American (N = 10), Asian-American (N = 6), European-American (N = 25), Latino-American (N = 2). The images contained in this dataset include eight emotional expressions, namely: neutral, angry, disgust, surprise, sad, calm, happy, and afraid. Both open and closed mouth versions were provided for all emotional expressions, with the exception of surprise (only open mouth provided) and happy (high arousal open mouth/exuberant provided).

This is a collection of images useful for conducting experiments in psychology, primarily faces, though other submissions are welcome. They are free for research use.

The Sheffield (previously UMIST) Face Database consists of 564 images of 20 individuals (mixed race/gender/appearance). Each individual is shown in a range of poses from profile to frontal views – each in a separate directory labelled 1a, 1b, … 1t and images are numbered consecutively as they were taken. The files are all in PGM format, approximately 220 x 220 pixels with 256-bit grey-scale.

Several databases of computer-generated synthetic faces.

UB KinFace database is used to develop, test, and evaluate kinship verification and recognition algorithms. It comprises 600 images of 400 people which can be separated into 200 groups. Each group is composed of child, young parent and old parent images. Most of images in the database are real-world collections of public figures (celebrities and politicians) from Internet. To the best of our knowledge, it is the first database that contains all children, young parents and old parents for the purpose of kinship verification.

The Yale Face Database (size 6.4MB) contains 165 grayscale images in GIF format of 15 individuals. There are 11 images per subject, one per different facial expression or configuration: center-light, w/glasses, happy, left-light, w/no glasses, normal, right-light, sad, sleepy, surprised, and wink.

The Brain Observatory Storage Service (BossDB) is a volumetric database for 3D and 4D neuroscience data. Database and Software Service for storing and sharing electron microscopy and x-ray microtomography data. Cloud-based data storage service with public data available directly from cloud storage or through our API in a number of formats. This Data archive was established under the IARPA MICrONS Program, and is supported by the BRAIN Initiative Informatics Program.

Brain Image Library is a repository for confocal microscopy brain imaging data. Data archives that have been established by BRAIN Initiative Data Sharing. National public resource enabling researchers to deposit, analyze, mine, share and interact with large brain image datasets.

The CRCNS data sharing website hosts high-quality experimental data sets that are valuable for testing computational models of the brain and new analysis methods. Data include physiological recordings from sensory and memory systems, as well as eye movement data.

Comprehensively mapping human brain circuitry in 1200 healthy adults using cutting-edge methods of noninvasive neuroimaging. Imaging, behavioral data, and genomic data are all made freely available to the research community as the data is collected. In addition, other laboratories using similar data collection techniques are releasing their data via this web site.

Environment for archiving, searching, sharing, tracking and disseminating neuroimaging and related clinical data. To access data from "Open Use" studies all you need is an account. For other studies, you must request access by submitting a data use application.

Facilitates finding and comparing neuroimaging resources for functional and structural neuroimaging analyses—including popular tools as well as those that once might have been hidden in another researcher's laboratory or some obscure corner of cyberspace.

Inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons associated with peer-reviewed publications.

Simultaneously queries multiple individual databases and data sets through a single search interface. Results categorized by data type and nervous system level.

NeuroVault is a repository for storing and sharing unthresholded statistical maps, parcellations, and atlases produced by MRI and PET studies.

A free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data.