Geology

Links to news, featured articles, and global maps on a variety of earth and environmental topics. RSS and archive of daily images. Search and browse archives.

Collecting and disseminating in-situ, real-time, quality-controlled observations in the marine environment to ensure the Nation's maritime safety, and to understand and predict the atmosphere, ocean, waves, ice, and climate.

Data sets from arctic and Antarctic programs, monthly highlights, daily images, links to current research projects, educational materials.

"NOAA&s Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services (CO-OPS) is the authoritative source for accurate, reliable, and timely tides, water levels, currents, and other coastal oceanographic and meteorological information."

Near real time data and cruise data along with archives for air quality, coral bleaching, algal blooms, earthquake and volcano activity, oil and chemical spills, space weather and more. Provides widgets for updates.

Tidewatch measures and forecasts the difference between the predicted astronomical tide and observed water levels at 10 locations within Chesapeake Bay and along Virgina's seaside Eastern Shore.

The USGS monitors and reports on earthquakes, assesses earthquake impacts and hazards, and conducts targeted research on the causes and effects of earthquakes. We undertake these activities as part of the larger National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP), a four-agency partnership established by Congress.

Our scientists gather information through periodic or continuous measurement in the field to provide a view of current conditions. In some instances, observations may not be subject to rigorous review before release; this will be noted in the documentation accompanying the data.

EarthChem provides open data services to the geochemical, petrological, mineralogical, and related communities. Services include data preservation, discovery, access, and visualization.

The Earth Impact Database (EID) comprises a list of confirmed impact structures from around the world. To date, there are 190 confirmed impact structures in the database. The database was conceived in its earliest form when a systematic search for impact craters was initiated in 1955 by the Dominion Observatory, Ottawa, under the direction of Dr. Carlyle S. Beals.

GDEX's mission is to provide data preservation and FAIR, public access to data and other digital research assets related to the Earth and its atmosphere, oceans, and space environment. Managed by National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR).

Search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names.

The GEOROC Database (Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents) is a comprehensive collection of published analyses of igneous and metamorphic rocks and minerals. It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions. Metadata include geospatial and other sample information, analytical details and references.

Bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).

NASA's Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center (GES DISC) is located within NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland. It provides access to a wide range of global climate data, concentrated primarily in the areas of atmospheric composition, atmospheric dynamics, global precipitation, and solar irradiance. GES DISC supports data from many heritage and EOS missions including Aqua, Aura, Solar Radiation and Climate Experiment (SORCE), Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM), Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite (UARS), and Earth Probe/Total Ozone Mapping Spectrometers (TOMS). GES DISC also provides data subsetting, exploration, visualization, and access services.

Data repository for the Geological Society of America, hosted on Figshare.

NASA's Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) program promotes the full and open sharing of all data, metadata, documentation, models, images and research results, and the source code used to generate, manipulate, and analyse them.

NASA's Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) program oversees the life cycle of NASA’s Earth science data—from acquisition through processing and distribution.

Data repository of the British Geological Survey, UK.

Data repository that hosts open archiving, publishing, and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.

A USGS Trusted Digital Repository providing access to scientific data products and resources.

The USGS Science Data Catalog provides seamless access to USGS research and monitoring data from across the nation.

This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.

Free crystallography database searchable by crystal parameters and references and returns the CIFs.

MINABS Online provides a unique research tool for researchers working in the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy, and related topics. The database – which contains more than 120,000 abstracts of papers published between 1982 and 2008 – originated from the paper journal Mineralogical Abstracts, a publication of the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland. No new abstracts were added to the database after 2008

The largest mineral database and mineralogical reference website on the internet; includes blogs by users and links to mineral dealers.

Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.

Descriptions, images, and crystallography for more than 4,000 minerals. Includes audio for mineral names.

Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global analysis.

The Database The RRUFF™ Project is creating a complete set of high quality spectral data from well characterized minerals and is developing the technology to share this information with the world. Our collected data provides a standard for mineralogists, geoscientists, gemologists and the general public for the identification of minerals both on earth and for planetary exploration.

The Mineral Resources Program delivers unbiased science and information to increase understanding of ore formation, undiscovered mineral resource potential, production, consumption, and how minerals interact with the environment. MRP supports data collection and research on a wide variety of non-fuel mineral resources that are important to the Nation’s economic and national security.