Databases are subscription resources that bring together articles and other types of research materials into one place with a sophisticated search engine. There are many, many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your environmental law topics.
Our databases are available via this guide or the Databases tab on the libraries homepage. Start with the databases listed in the other tabs and/or browse by subject for additional databases.
There are many databases within the Ebscohost platform you can use to locate articles on your topics.
It is probably best to start with the Academic Search Ultimate database and the MasterFile Premier database and then add others for your specific topic. Search them at the same time to remove duplications.
For example, any topic dealing with education should be searched in Academic Search Complete and MasterFILE Premier and also Education Source.
Media issues - add Communication and Mass Media Complete
Women - add Women's Studies International
Business / Money - add Business Source Complete and EconLit
See the various topics tabs
To search multiple databases get into Academic Search Ultimate first, then click on - choose databases - and add the others.
Results:
1. Since you are searching multiple databases at once, it is best to filter/limit within results
2. Retrieve way too many results? Change search field from Select a Field to AB Abstract
3. Limit document type
4. Limit language
5. Limit dates
Limit to AB Abstract
There are several databaes within the ProQuest platform you can use, depending on your topic.
Similar to Ebsco, get into one database and add th eothers.
You can start with PAIS, which covers Public Affairs / Public Policy / Social Issues.
Other databases to add:
Black Studies Periodicals
Criminal Justice Database
Ebook Central
Ethnic Newswatch
GenderWatch
Sociological Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Public Health
Once in a databse, click on the left-hand three-line menu and then click on Change Databases. Add the others
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
The best database for environmental articles is not an Ebscohost or ProQuest database. You will need to use the Web of Science database.
The best database for legislation (bills, house/senate committee prints, hearings, crs reports) is not an Ebscohost database. You will need to use the Congressional Publications, a database from Proquest, a different platform.
