The field of chamber music has undergone consistent development since this book was first published eighteen years ago. Historical researchers have discovered many new facts and provided new insights into the earlier periods. A new generation of contemporary composers has introduced new styles and style elements into the field. The standard repertoire itself has been enlarged even as the sheer number of chamber-music performance and recording has increased. The second edition of this book seeks to reflect the increasing impact of chamber music on concert life everywhere. The chapters dealing with its growth to about 1730 have been completely rearranged, and much new material has been incorporated. Sections on composers treated sketchily or not at all in the first edition-notably Vivaldi and Boccherini-have been enlarged or added in the second. The very definition of chamber music has been broadened to include violin sonatas and cello sonatas, and many works in these categories have been discussed. The chapter on contemporary music has been rewritten and expanded to take into account the most recent developments. Finally, the bibliography has been enlarged to include the most important items that deal with chamber music and its composers. One omission may be noted in the second edition: the lists of chamber-music publications and recordings. Such lists are inevitably out of date even when they first appear; and the existence of comprehensive catalogues today makes the music and long-playing phonograph recordings generally available in any case.
Chamber Music by John H. Baron
Publication Date: 2002-10-04
Featuring an extensive and comprehensive bibliography of all printed materials on chamber music this reference lists works on basic reference, history of chamber music, analytic studies, performance practice and performers.
Chamber Music by Victor Rangel-Ribeiro; Robert Markel
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
"Few joys equal the pleasure of playing music on the instrument you love, a joy that can be enhanced by joining fellow musicians in a piece of chamber music. Despite the extraordinary growth of interest in chamber music, there has not been a single book or even a combination of books to help a chamber musician or program planner determine what music, if any, exists for a given combination of instruments. This unique book fills that gap." "Authors Victor Rangel-Ribeiro and Robert Markel, both musicians themselves, have gathered over 8,000 listings of pieces for three to 20 musicians. Culled from over 100 catalogues of music publishers worldwide plus other sources, Chamber Music covers the last 500 years of music. It includes not only a complete listing of the standard chamber music repertoire but thousands of other, lesser-known pieces written for an array of instrumental combinations - including the voice. More than 5,000 listings are for 20th-century music." "Chamber Music is divided into three sections for easy access to information. The first contains music composed up to the time of Haydn and Mozart; the second, music from Beethoven to the present. Each listing contains the composer's name and dates, the title of the piece, the opus or catalogue number, if any, the year composed or published, if known, the key, if any, the duration of the piece, if specified by the composer or publisher, the instrumentation of the piece - including indications for voices and unusual instruments - and finally the name of the publisher. Comments, where appropriate, show when instrumental substitutions can be made, when the composer has not specified particular instruments, what unusual instruments are required, when a conductor might be needed, or any other relevant information of interest to the player. The third section, the "Master Quick-Reference Index," lists a number of instrumental combinations and directs the reader to composers who have written for those particular ensembles." "Comprehensive and easy to use, for the amateur or professional musician or anyone with an interest in the subject, Chamber Music is sure to enhance any music lover's reference shelf."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Literature of Chamber Music by Arthur Cohn
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
A Conductor's Repertory of Chamber Music by William Scott
Publication Date: 1993-06-21
This volume provides a valuable resource for instrumental conductors, conducting teachers, and students. Most universities offering advanced degrees in instrumental conducting cannot provide a training orchestra or wind ensemble for the conductor. The chamber orchestra, which can be easily organized and requires a smaller instrumentation, provides a reasonable alternative. The chamber ensemble has the potential to offer training for the developing conductor and to expand the repertoire of the professional conductor. A Conductor's Repertory of Chamber Music lists over one thousand original works for chamber ensembles ranging in size from nine to fifteen solo instruments. The work includes three sections: the Repertory, a complete data base of compositions listed by composer and including instrumentation, publisher, the composer's date of birth, and the number of required musicians; the Repertory Classified, which lists compositions according to similar combinations of instruments; and a Title Index.
Chamber Music from Haydn to Bartók by Harold Gleason; Warren Becker
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
Early Chamber Music by Ruth Halle Rowen
Publication Date: 1974-02-21
Nineteenth-Century Chamber Music by Stephen Hefling
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
First Published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Twentieth-Century Chamber Music by James McCalla
Publication Date: 2003-08-22
First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
American Vocal Chamber Music, 1945-1980 by Patricia Lust; Phyllis Bryn-Julson (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 1985-06-07
Product information not available.
An Annotated Guide to Wind Chamber Music by Rodney Winther
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Wind chamber music has become an important part of the contemporary wind band program during the past half century, and now a most complete reference text has been written to provide any and all necessary information concerning repertoire. Winther lists over 500 works by instrumentation and provides guidance on timings, difficulty level, publisher sources, available recordings and his own insight into rehearsing and programming each individual work. This book will soon be required reading for every wind conductor and performer!
Wind Chamber Music by Barbera Secrist-Schmedes
Publication Date: 1996-10-10
Wind Chamber Music: Winds With Piano And Woodwind Quintets is an invaluable reference work for music teachers, professional and amateur musicians, and music students. It will help them create programs by specific ethnic groups, identify the mainstream repertoire, find works appropriate for students, or search for a fun filler piece for a pops concert. This guide lists works in print for woodwind quintet and piano with two to five wind instruments-- flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, or horn. The book is divided into five sections: two winds with piano; three winds with piano; four winds with piano; five winds with piano; and wind quintet. Each entry provides composer birth and death dates, composition date, publisher, nationality, recording availability, instrumentation, length, and general description of the compositional style.
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble by Maurice Hinson
Publication Date: 1978-06-01
." . . the answer to the dreams of all chamber keyboardists who want to explore unknown corners of the repertoire." -Contemporary Keyboard
The String Player's Guide to Chamber Music by James Christensen
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
The String Player's Guide to Chamber Music is an authoritative guide to the best musical creations for small string ensembles. In this volume, classical music teachers, students, and enthusiasts find well-known works by Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, and Shostakovich, among others. The book describes and analyzes 260 musical works, gauging the level of difficulty for the amateur, identifying problems performers may face, and rating each piece numerically for level of pleasure and degree of effort involved. Meant chiefly for string quartets, piano trios, and similar ensembles, the assortment also includes a few pieces for more unusual combinations.
Chamber Music by James Keller
Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Oxford's highly successful listener's guides - The Symphony, The Concerto, and Choral Masterworks - have been widely praised for their blend of captivating biography, crystal clear musical analysis, and delightful humor. Now James Keller follows these greatly admired volumes with ChamberMusic. Approaching the tradition of chamber music with knowledge and passion, Keller here serves as the often opinionated, always genial guide to 192 essential works by 56 composers, providing illuminating essays on what makes each piece distinctive and admirable. Keller spans the history of thisintimate genre of music, from key works of the Baroque through the emotionally stirring "golden age" of the Classical and Romantic composers, to modern masterpieces rich in political, psychological, and sometimes comical overtones. For each piece, from Bach through to contemporary figures likeGeorge Crumb and Steve Reich, the author includes an astute musical analysis that casual music lovers can easily appreciate yet that more experienced listeners will find enriching. Keller shares the colorful, often surprising stories behind the compositions while revealing the delights of an artform once described by Goethe as the musical equivalent of "thoughtful people conversing."