Research Guides: GVPT 479W: Women of Color in Politics: Women Suffrage and History

History of Women Suffrage

History of Women Suffrage - Volume 6
Access via Project Gutenberg
ctrl - f
ex. hetty (which works for hetty w. drury)
History of Women Suffrage - Volume 6
Access via Google Books
Search in this book (on the left)
ex. nelly taylor
History of Woman Suffrage - Volume 6
Access via HathiTrust
Search in this text (upper right)
ex. dora delay

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) UMD has access to archives 1-12.

Steps to access to the History of Woman Suffrage and other possible relevant sources within the Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) database
Once in NCCO, scroll down and under Searchable Archives, click on: Women: Transnational Networks
(far right)
Two ways to search.

1. If you just want to search History of Women: Once in the Archives Collection, scroll down to Collections in This Archive and click on
History of Woman and then search

2. Use the search box (instead of History of Women) and type in the name
examples:
hetty w drury = History of Woman
georgia hopley = Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt and newspapers and periodicals (articles she has written where she is mentioned)
mrs george tilden = History of Women and newspapers and periodicals

The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony by Ann D. Gordon (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
V.1 In the school of anti-slavery, 1840 to 1866 -- v. 2 Against an aristocracy of sex, 1866 to 1873 --m v. 3 National protection for national citizens, 1873-1880 -- v. 4 When clowns make laws for queens, 1880 to 1887 -- v. 5 Their place inside the body-politic, 1887-1895 -- v. 6 An awful hush, 1895 to 1906.

Tricky - no quotes are used - many false hits

The following databases and websites are useful for suffrage and Women's history in general.
In addition use the databases under Primary Sources

Women and Social Movements in the U.S.
Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, reviews, pamphlets, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews and teaching tools. 1600-2000.
Women's Studies Archive: Voice and Vision
Explores critical areas of study including the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism and political activism, domestic service, education, health and hygiene, and divorce and social reform. Includes materials from theBritish Library, Swarthmore College, the American Antiquarian Society, New York University, and the National Archives (UK). 1780-2000.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Electronic collection of womens diaries and correspondence from Colonial times to 1950. Coverage includes: all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous, and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies are also included.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Library of Congress: Women's History
Digital collection covering all aspects of Women's history
Discovering American Women's History Online
Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Click! The Ongoing Feminist Revolution
Highlights the achievements of women from the 1940s to the present. Includes videos, interviews, documents...

Google

name in quotes
"electra collins doren"

variations of the name
(found while searching in other sources and google)
"electra c. doren"

Add keywords
(general and also found while searching in other sources and google)
suffrage
suffragette
librarian
innovator

Wikipedia List of References

Google Books Advanced Search (https://books.google.com/advanced_book_search)

Google Books Search Electra Collins Doren

Google Books Doren Search Results

If full-text is not available, check worldcat for the title or some of the other databases (depending on the source)