Research Guides: GVPT 479W: Women of Color in Politics: Databases

Databases

There are many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more related to your assignment topics.

Access the databases from this guide or from the library's homepage using the databases tab. You can also browse by subject category.

EbscoHost Databases:
Academic Search Complete
America. History and Life
Communication and Mass Media Complete
eBook Collection
International Political Science Abstracts
LGBT Life with Full Text
Race Relations Abstracts
SocINDEX
Women's Studies International
These databases may be searched together to remove duplicate documents. See - Searching Multiple databases
Get into one database and add others

Proquest Databases:
Black Studies Periodicals
Ethnic Newswatch
GenderWatch
Ebook Central
PAIS
These databases may be searched together to remove duplicate documents. See - Searching Multiple databases
Get into one database and add others

There are many other databases to use. See Below (some examples) and the subjects:
African American Studies

Women's Studies

Primary Sources

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
African American Communities
Primary source resource containing information focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arena. Highlights include the Chicago Urban League papers c.1916-1985, material on the legal battles for the desegregation of public schools and buses from the papers of Thomas J. Pearsall, James B. McMillan and Algernon Lee Butler, the complete run of The messenger, 1925-1928, a popular civil rights magazine published by activist A . Philip Randolph, family papers of prominent African American families in Atlanta, c.1870-1965, and oral histories of individuals in the civil rights movement in Atlanta and personal accounts from members of the Weeksville community.
Black Thought and Culture
Contains full text and bibliographic information about the black community and its leaders, from the 1700's to present times. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, interviews, and other publications. Contains many never before published materials. Most significant, for the first time in electronic format, newspaper articles from the Black Panther Party publication is made available.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
GenderWatch
Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.
Black Studies Periodicals
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean. Indexing 1902 to present, full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals 1998 to present. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary - spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.
Oxford African American Studies Center
A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.

Search multiple databases together.

EbscoHost:
Get into one database first, in this example, Academic Search Ultimate.

Once in one database, click on - Choose Databases - to add additional databases.

Proquest:

Get into one database first, in this example, PAIS.

Once in one database, click on - the upper left - then Change databases - to add additional databases.

Change/add databases in ProQuest

When using the Ebsco databases, If you retrieve too many results :
limit document type
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
or
Academic Journals
or
Date
or
Change the field from Select a Field (optional) to AB Abstract or SU Subject

Ebsco databases changing search field

When searching, if you retrieve too many results and they do not seem to be relevant, try changing the search field from Anywhere
to either
Abstract - AB
or
Anywhere except full text - NOFT

ProQuest too many results change search field