Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music by Women and BIPOC Composers

This finding aid provides resources for performing musicians and music scholars to find and access works by composers outside the historically white and male Western classical canon.

Welcome!

Are you looking for works outside the historically white and male western classical canon to perform or research? This LibGuide provides resources that can help you find and access these works. Resources included are both those within the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library and Special Collections in the Performing Arts as well as open-source databases and projects.

To locate works, we suggest you use these resources to identify composers and works you are interested in, and subsequently search for those works in our catalogue. For more helpful searching tips, you can consult our Basic Music Research Guide.

Black, Indigenous, Asian, Latinx and other composers of color have been historically excluded from the canon and collections, as have women, non-binary, and queer composers. We're committed to increasing resources on composers as well as their works. If you have suggestions for where we can add to our collection, we'd love to hear from you in our Digital Suggestion Form.

Bibliographic Resources

Black Composers


Asian Composers


Indigenous Composers


Latinx Composers


Women Composers


Queer Composers

Resources at SCPA

The University of Maryland's Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library also houses our Special Collections in the Performing Arts. These collections contain scores and materials that represent diverse composers. 

Online Resources

Anthologies