It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides full-text access to key works and archival documents of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. This immense collection includes materials ranging from texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction. The latter category includes winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards. Has an international focus. Is cross-searchable with the LGBT Studies in Video database.
"This growing collection in LGBT Studies features text and video resources exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. The immense text holdings in this collection include materials ranging from texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction. The latter category includes winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards. The video holdings include documentaries, interview, and archival films that look at all aspects of the LGBT community: LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection has an international and multidisciplinary focus (inclu. lgbt studies, sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, cultural studies, and religious studies)."
More than 200 rare newsletters and periodicals (totaling nearly 8,000 issues l) published between 1947 and 2004, documenting political and social activities as well as more private aspects of gay and lesbian life, especially during the formative years of the gay and lesbian movement
Full title: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture. Examines populations and areas of the world previously underrepresented in prevailing scholarship on sexuality and gender. Including manuscripts, periodicals and other ephemera, contents total around 450,000 pages dating from the 1820s, with the bulk of the material from between 1970-2016.
Contains over one million pages of material exploring LGBTQ history and culture from the 16th century to the 20th century. Includes materials from the British Library, Alfred C. Kinsey Institute and the New York Academy of Medicine.
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
The Homophile Movement is the name given to organizations and political strategies employed by the LGBT community prior to the era of confrontational activism of the 1970s. Donald Stewart Lucas was a gay rights pioneer and antipoverty activist. His papers document a variety of homophile organizations, particularly the Mattachine Foundation, the Mattachine Society, Pan-Graphic Press, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, the Society for Individual Rights, and the Economic Opportunity Council of San Francisco.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
The papers of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, life-long pioneers of the lesbian rights, gay rights, and women's rights movements. Important multidisciplinary resource for such subjects as LGBT studies, women's studies, political science, history, sociology, and American studies. Full-text, fully searchable database.