It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Artfinder gives you access to hundreds of thousands of paintings from artists, galleries, museums and collections around the world, as artist biographies, guides and articles. You can build your own art profile, receive personalized recommendations based on the art you like, and share and discuss art with friends via Facebook and Twitter.
Art in Context offers contact and biographical information about many contemporary artists around the world, as well as information and images related to exhibitions on contemporary artists' work. You can browse the collection without a membership.
"Offers more than 9,000 original drawings for editorial cartoons, caricatures, and comic strips spanning the late 1700s to the present, primarily from 1880 to 1980. The cartoons cover people and events throughout the world, but most of the images were intended for publication in American newspapers and magazines."
This site features links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials. The online exhibitions included in this guide draw their inspiration and content primarily from library and archival materials, including, for example: printed books, book illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, printed ephemera, posters, archival sound and video recordings, etc
MutualArt.com includes the world's largest online archive of over 200,000 art related articles from over 250 quality magazines, newspapers and journals, and also provides a conduit for galleries, museums, auction houses, art fairs and publishers to reach their target audiences over a single, global platform. Free basic registration allows users to "follow" up to 15 artists' work.
Members can track categories of art - even individual artists - and receive new information on these from thousands of sources. They also receive advance notification of art events in the categories they choose - from exhibitions and lectures to opening parties and galas, to auctions offering works by their preferred artists.
The World Heritage List includes 936 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. Use the interactive map to find WH sites around the world, as well as accompanying information, images, and documentation.
A collaborative project of the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and partners throughout the world. Includes significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings.
Locating Advertisements and Commercials You will find lots of web sites chronicling the history of advertising and providing ad images. In addition, we have plently of books. Use worldcat and the following keywords: advertising history advertising history women advertising fashion history women in advertising history