Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Request Material and Order Copies - Special Collections & University Archives

A guide to help researchers request material from our Archival Collections database, WorldCatUM, and our Classic Catalog.

How to Submit a Request to View Material in the Reading Room

How to Submit a Manual Request

Unprocessed collections, including collections located offsite, do not have a complete finding aid in the Archives Collections Database, researchers are instructed to place a manual request for these materials.

  • Log into your Special Collections Account.
     
  • Select “Manual Request” from the menu.
     
  • Fill in the following fields (* is a required field):
    • *Title
    • *Is This An Unprocessed Collection?
       
    • *Library
      • Choose “Maryland Room” for materials from Special Collections and University Archives
      • Choose "Special Collections in the Performing Arts" for materials from the Special Collections in Performing Arts
         
    • *Call Number
      • If you are requesting archival material, put “n/a”, unless otherwise instructed by special collections staff.
         
    • Volume/Box
      • If you are requesting archival material, please list the series and/or box number.
      • If you are requesting a publication, please indicate the volume number.
      • Please request one box/item per request.
         
    • Location
      • Add "cposs" for collections located offsite at Severn Library.
         
    • Special Requests/Questions?
      • Use this field to communicate any additional information about this order to special collections staff.
         
    • *Schedule your visit by selecting a date for your visit.
      • Some material may be located offsite or require additional screening, and may take up to 4 days to retrieve. 
      • All requests to view materials during an appointment must be placed at least 3 business days in advance.
      • Materials located offsite in Severn Library may take up to 4 business days to be made available in the reading room.
         
    • Click “Submit Request
       
  • Start a new Manual Request to add additional boxes/items.
    • Or, you can clone requests from the same collection.
      • After submitting your first request for the first box/item, open the request by clicking on the TN number from the list on the main menu of your special collections account. Select ‘Clone Request’.
      • Update the newly cloned request with the new series/box number and click "Submit Request." This helps save time of re-entering the title and other information in a new request.

How to Order Copies

Place a Duplication Order

  • Log into your Special Collections Account.
     
  • Select “Manual Request” from the menu.
     
  • Select "Switch to Duplication Order" at the top.
     
  • Place your request as instructed above.
     
  • Complete duplication order details.
    • Be specific as possible about the materials you would like to have copied.
       
  • Select "Submit Request"