Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

JAPN 438P: Topics in Japanese Pragmatics: Speech Acts and Politeness

JAPN438P: Topics in Japanese Pragmatics: Speech Acts and Politness

UMD Discover Overview

What is UMD Discover?

UMD Discover

UMD Discover UMD Discover allows you to discover resources and materials in various formats in the UMD and University System of Maryland (USMAI) collections. Filters are available to refine your search by location, format, and many other criteria. If you have used UMD's prior interface, WorldCat UMD, you will be familiar with Discover's core features such as a single search box, and faceted limiters. 

What does it actually search?

UMD Discover UMD Discover searches and provides the discovery of the UMD and University System of Maryland (USMAI) collections as well as many other libraries around the world. You will be able to find a wide variety of the Library’s collection of scholarly resources including books, e-journals, conference literature, technical reports, and other digital and print content.

Note that, unlike UMD Libraries' previous search interface (Worldcat UMD), UMD Discover does not include the vast catalogs on resources available through libraries beyond the University of Maryland system. If you do not find what you need in UMD Discover, you can expand your search by clicking on the WorldCat link provided within UMD Discover and request the items you need through our Interlibrary Loan Service (we'll find you a copy if one is available!)

To find additional resources, or for more focused researching, use the link to our specialized database - Database Finder - and/or contact your subject specialist.

For full access, make sure you sign in

 

How to Find. . .

Note: The following instructions apply to searching within UMD Discover. To get into UMD Discover, start at lib.umd.edu and click All UMD Discover Items.

To begin, type any search in the search box at the top of the screen.

Under Refine My Results, look for the Limit To box and select Physical + Print Resources.

Click Apply Filters

You can further limit your results using additional options under Refine My Results. Options include:

  1. Resource Type (to limit to specific formats like Books, Audio, or Video)
  2. Publication Year
  3. Topic
  4. Specific library or collection
  5. Authors
  6. Language
  7. Specific University of Maryland campus

To retrieve a physical item once you have identified what you want:

  1. Click a title in the results
  2. Click Sign In and log in with your UMD credentials
  3. You have a few options depending on the individual item:
    1. Scroll down to Get it
    2. Click Request
    3. Follow the prompts
  4. You can note the call number and location and retrieve the item yourself
    1. Scroll down to Get it
    2. Note the library, section of the library, call number, and availability
    3. Visit the library and retrieve the item (ask for help at the library's service desk if needed)
  5. Request a Scan. You can request a scan of a book chapter or an article out of a print journal
    1. Scroll down to Get It
    2. Click Request Scan
    3. Follow the prompts

 

Note: The following instructions apply to searching within UMD Discover. To get into UMD Discover, start at lib.umd.edu and click All UMD Discover Items.

To begin, type any search in the search box at the top of the screen.

Under Refine My Results:

1. Look for the Limit To box and select Online (Full-Text)

Refine Results UMD Discover eBooks

 

2. Also under Refine My Results, select Books under Resource Type. Note: you may need to click Show More to see all the Resource Type options.

Refine Results UMD Discover to eBooks

Click Apply Filters

 

Once you have identified an eBook you want:

1. Click its title in the search results
2. Sign in if you haven't already
3. Scroll down to View Online
4. Click the link under Full Text Availability. Note: there may be more than one link.

 

 

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Here are a few encyclopedias and handbooks that may be useful for this class.