HHUM 106: The Humanities in Practice

ANB online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. American National Biography (ANB) offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly.

The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community..

The Encyclopedia of American Jewish History records and analyzes the American Jewish experience from its beginnings in the mid-seventeenth century to the present. It examines the encounters with, and impact on, America of successive waves of Jewish immigrants and their descendants, including Sephardim, Ashkenazim, Holocaust survivors, Soviet Jews, and Mizrahim.

This encyclopedia covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It allows a reader to analyze an author's work as a reflection of the heritage, traditions and experiences of the author's personal life and the beliefs, events, and lifestyles of the United States at the time.

This encyclopedia covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.

An encyclopedia of African American literature from its origins to the present. "While most of the entries are on individual authors, the encyclopedia gathers together information about the genres and geographical and cultural environments in which these writers have worked, and the social, political, and aesthetic movements in which they have participated."

Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has a historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.

This ten-volume set covers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century up to 1990. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Each volume focuses on a separate decade, providing a narrative on the evolution of both the business and the art of film in America.

A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.

UMD has access, no need to Sign In once on the Oxford page. Accessing remotely? Follow regular remote sign in procedures for databases. Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

Biographies of more than 50,000 noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries. Biographical essay of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).

Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in literary studies written by the worlds leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased only those entries published in 2013-2015. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.

An online bilingual dictionaries presently contains 1.2 million words and phrases (available in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Chinese). The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.

This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Included in this Oxford Digital Reference Shelf edition are online-exclusive entries that originally appeared on Oxford Music Online.

Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. (11 simultaneous users.) All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources should be used in tandem.