Research Guides: SPAN 362: Latin American Literatures and Cultures II: From Independence to Nation Formation: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Electronic Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Diccionario de la Lengua Española
Online version of dictionary published by the Real Academia Española.

Diccionario de Terminos Clave de ELE
Spanish language dictionary of linguistic terms.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
This encyclopedia covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.

Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has a historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory
Essays defining literary terms and explaining literary theories, periods, movements. Biographical information about writers, literary theorists and cultural critics. Literature, philosophy, literary and cultural theory and criticism. From Plato and Aristotle to the present.

Oxford Handbooks: Linguistics
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in linguistics and second language acquisition, written by the world's leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased the Foundation Collection and 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays
Oxford Handbooks: Literature
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in literary studies written by the world's leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased the Foundation Collection and 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.

The following is a sampling of books located in the McKeldin Reference Stacks. Browse the shelves near these books to locate additional sources,

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by Richard G. Smith
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks PQ7081.A1 E56 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-26
A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by Janet Perez; Maureen Ihrie
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks PQ6055 .F46 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-30
Hundreds of entries examine the literary periods and genres, significant characters, major authors, and works of Spanish literature as they relate to women's studies.
Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks PQ7081.3 .L37 2008
Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries. Features thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies
Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks PS153.H56 R36 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This comprehensive one-volume resource contains approximately 250 entries on some of the most popular Hispanic-American authors and their works.