It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
This encyclopedia covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.
Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has a historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage off major topics in linguistics and second language acquisition, written by the worlds is leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased only the Foundation Collection. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in literary studies written by the worlds leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased only those entries published in 2013-2015. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.
Print Books in McKeldin Library
The following is a sampling of books located in the McKeldin Reference
Stacks. Browse the shelves near these books to locate additional
A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.
Presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries. Features thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies