It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Presenting on a UMD-specific topic? You can access our Digital Collections for cool archival photos and documents, including historic issues of the Diamondback! For non-digitized photographs, search Archival Collections at UMD to learn more about our collection and how you can access these sources in person at Hornbake Library!
For assignments that require a visual aid, check out these databases and websites for images galore! Don't forget that you need to cite your images, just as you would cite other sources in your presentation.
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Provides access to the online catalog of the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. The searchable database includes 650,000+ bibliographic records and digital images cataloged since 1984. Rights and reproduction information is also included. Represents a portion of the holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this image database offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
Open source photographs: "Unsplash grants you an irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos from Unsplash for free, including for commercial purposes, without permission from or attributing the photographer or Unsplash."