It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When searching for newspaper and magazine articles online, you may hit a paywall that prevents you from accessing the full text of the article. If that happens, check to see if UMD has access to the publication through its subscriptions.
On the UMD homepage, navigate to "Find and Cite"-->"Catalogs & Databases"-->"Journal Finder." Then, enter the title of the publication you are looking for and hit "search."
If the search fails or you have difficulty determining whether UMD has access to the publication, ask a librarian for assistance via email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or via AskUs!
Finding Popular Sources
In addition to searching the wide web for popular sources, you can also search in UMD's databases. We have entire databases dedicated to current and historical newspapers, as well as databases that include opinion pieces.
Note: not all popular sources are created equal. Some are fact-based (like news articles) and others are opinion-based (like personal blog-posts). Both types of sources can be helpful, but in different ways.
Digitized and fully searchable collections of early American newspapers. Includes two databases, Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and African American Newspapers which can be searched together or separately. Early American Newspapers includes more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. African American Newspaper includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.