Research Guides: Health and Medical Statistics: Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Data.Gov "The home of the U.S. Government's open data." Provides data, tools and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile apps and design data visualizations and much more.
Dissertations & Theses Global This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. It offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Time Span: 1861 to present.
Passport This resource requires a campus login for access. Provides comparable statistics for 205 countries on economic indicators, health, foreign trade, environment, lifestyle, industrial and agriculture output, communications and more. Also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services. It covers demographic trends, economic indicators, finance, foreign trade, health, labor force, industrial and agricultural production, environmental data, consumer expenditure patterns, retail sales, advertising and media patterns, consumer prices, household patterns, literacy rates, telecommunications, automotive and transport figures, travel and tourism, income and earnings potential. It also includes market size data for over 300 consumer products and services.
Policy Map Policy Map provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime mortgages, health, jobs, demographics, and education from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources \. Data is cleaned and standardized , and updated regularly. the database basic GIS tools to create reports and maps.
ScienceDirect Peer-reviewed, full text database containing electronic book and journal titles covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. In addition to keyword searches, the image search and value added content associated with the publication can be found in the form of audio, video and datasets. Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Dates of abstracting and indexing vary. Full text prior to 1995 often going back to vol. 1, iss. 1 Author searches are done on the last name only. Subject searches are supported, but subjects are not presented within the records. Truncation is not supported in phrases.

Public Health Specific Databases

BIOSIS Previews Provides access to the life sciences literature from more than 5,500 journals, books, conference proceedings, US patents, papers and posters, nomenclature rules, and taxonomic keys. Provides access to the traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bio-engineering and biotechnology are also included. Time span 1970-present.
Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive (COBRA) COBRA is a repository of biostatistics technical reports and working papers submitted by researchers from around the United States. Topics covered by the COBRA database include epidemiology, genetics, bioinformatics, and much more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text CINAHL Plus with Full Text is an online source for full text nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, as well as searchable cited references, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Time span: 1937-present. This database does not contain author first names. A search on 'Rice, Flora' will find records with 'Rice, F' or 'Rice, FM' in the author field. You can't type in 'Rice, Flora C'; you'll get zero hits.
MEDLINE Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals. Users can effectively search and retrieve information with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services. 1966- present. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First There are no ISBNs in this database.
PubMed The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education, public health, health care planning and administration of services. Also includes additional life science journals. mid-1960s - present
Public Health This database delivers core public health literature with centralized access to journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology. Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.