Skip to main content

Japan Studies

This guides primarily describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research on Japan Studies. The guide also directs researchers to collections and resources beyond the UMD Libraries.

Why use a database?

Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine.  Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. Databases make online content easily searchable by subject.

Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or remotely only to University of Maryland staff and students.  

Secondary Source Databases & Tools

Secondary sources are written after the historical event they describe has occurred. These materials analyze primary sources and draw conclusions from them.  Secondary sources provide hindsight, and usally incorporate multiple sources of information about the same event.  Seconcary materials include monographs, journal articles, biographies, encyclopedias, and documentaries--anything that includes a list of historical sources.

Most of these databases and research tools are available only at University of Maryland Libraries.  Remote access is available to University of Maryland students and staff only, due to licensing agreements.

Electronic Reference

These databases are available at University of Maryland Libraries.  Remote access is available to University of Maryland students and staff only, due to licensing agreements.