Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Dance in Video: Volume I lays the foundation for the study of dance in all its forms with content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, experimental dance, and more. Films feature many of the greatest dance companies as well as an array of rare and hard-to-find archival and historical material. Dance in Video: Volume II showcases a new catalogue of dancers and partners including the Joffrey Ballet, John Jasperse Company, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre, as well as instructional materials, interviews, and documentaries featuring key performers and choreographers.
Filmakers Library Online is a multidisciplinary collection of well known documentaries already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. The coverage is topical, contemporary, and cross-disciplinary, specializing in studies of race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, and the environment. The collection includes bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Additionally, titles in Filmakers Library Online present international points of view of both historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Video streaming solution for colleges offering full length “on demand” preview experiences to a broad selection of over 26,000 videos. Video can be watched from anywhere, anytime by students and staff and preview options allow users to determine what films will kept available long term. Video categories include documentaries, feature films and educational videos from thousands of producers. All subjects are available from a variety of producers including: The Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features and the BBC. Most videos are available with closed-captioning and may be viewed through most mobile devices.
"This growing collection in LGBT Studies features text and video resources exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. The immense text holdings in this collection include materials ranging from texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction. The latter category includes winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards. The video holdings include documentaries, interview, and archival films that look at all aspects of the LGBT community: LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection has an international and multidisciplinary focus (inclu. lgbt studies, sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, cultural studies, and religious studies)."
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.