SPAN 361: Latin American Literatures and Cultures I: From Pre-Columbian to Colonial Times
This guide is intended for students in SPAN 361: Latin American Literatures and Cultures I: From Pre-Columbian to Colonial Times. It includes some of the most important tools for finding books, articles, and other media. Email or phone the subject special
Repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images, from across many periods and cultures. Architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture are represented. Provides tools to actively use images for scholarship, teaching, and learning.
Provides access to the online catalog of the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. The searchable database includes 650,000+ bibliographic records and digital images cataloged since 1984. Rights and reproduction information is also included.
ALEXANDER STREET PRESS: Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior over 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. All videos and transcripts have been indexed and are fully searchable and browsable.
ALEXANDER STREET PRESS: Filmakers Library Online is a multidisciplinary collection of well known documentaries already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. The coverage is topical, contemporary, and cross-disciplinary, specializing in studies of race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, and the environment. The collection includes bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Additionally, titles in Filmakers Library Online present international points of view of both historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Streaming video service of almost 12,000 full length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured are: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine. This collection also includes thousands of video clips and a collection of archival films & newsreels. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists; most videos available with closed-captioning and interactive transcripts; may be viewed through most mobile devices.
Video streaming solution for colleges offering full length “on demand” preview experiences to a broad selection of over 26,000 videos. Video can be watched from anywhere, anytime by students and staff and preview options allow users to determine what films will kept available long term. Video categories include documentaries, feature films and educational videos from thousands of producers.
ALEXANDER STREET PRESS: Smithsonian Global Sound includes published recordings of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and archival audio collections of Folkways Records, and of Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk Musical Magazine, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also included are field recordings collected on the South Asian subcontinent made available from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
ALEXANDER STREET PRESS: World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.