SPAN 361: Latin American Literatures and Cultures I: From Pre-Columbian to Colonial Times
This guide is intended for students in SPAN 361: Latin American Literatures and Cultures I: From Pre-Columbian to Colonial Times. It includes some of the most important tools for finding books, articles, and other media. Email or phone the subject special
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.
Literary Criticism Databases
To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles on your topic consult the following database.
A Comprehensive Resource for Art Information featuring indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and/or full-text of the content, including images, of hundreds of periodicals and books in the areas of art, art history, architecture and architectural history including: archaeology, interior and landscape design, painting, sculpture, printmaking, photography, graphic arts, decorative arts, costume design and antiques. Replaces Art Abstracts (1984-present).
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. HINT: Go to Settings In the Library Links tab, search for University of Maryland Libraries and put a check mark in the University of Maryland Find@UMD button. Click Save button at the bottom right of the page. Now when you find an article in Google Scholar use the Find@UMD link to retrieve the full-text of the article.
Indexes over 400 journals from key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America and throughout the world. Coverage includes Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.
An index to core journals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, conference proceedings, and other materials covering European Art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; includes visual arts in all media, decorative and applied arts, architecture, archaeology and many related fields. Continues Bibliography of the History of Art.
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.