The African American Studies Reader
by Nathaniel Norment
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
This book is the most comprehensive anthology in the field. The intellectual, political, and social aspects of African American Studies continue to evolve, as do the ways in which the discipline will advance knowledge about African Americans for the future.
Using feminist and womanist theory, Simone Alexander takes as her main point of analysis literary works that focus on the black female body as the physical and metaphorical site of migration. She shows that over time black women have used their bodily presence to complicate and challenge a migratory process often forced upon them by men or patriarchal society. Through in-depth study of selective texts by Audre Lorde, Edwidge Danticat, Maryse Conde, and Grace Nichols, Alexander challenges the stereotypes ascribed to black female sexuality, subverting its assumed definition as diseased, passive, or docile. She also addresses issues of embodiment as she analyses how women's bodies are read and seen; how bodies "perform" and are performed upon; how they challenge and disrupt normative standards. A multifaceted contribution to studies of gender, race, sexuality and disability issues, African Diasporic Women's Narratives engages with a range of issues as it grapples with the complex interconnectedness of geography, citizenship, and nationalism.
Chapters are grouped into six parts covering history, theoretical conceptions, religion, child socialization, gender relations, and public policy. Black Families will interest students, scholars, and practitioners in African American Families, Black Families, and related courses in fields of African American and ethnic studies, human development and family studies, sociology, social work, and education.
Black Female Undergraduates on Campus
by Crystal Renée Chambers (Editor); Rhonda V. Sharpe (Editor); Henry T. Frierson (Series edited by)
Publication Date: 2012-01-05
Since 1976, increased attention has been paid to the diminishing numbers of Black males in higher education, and rightly so: the total numerical enrollments of Black female undergraduates has outstripped their male counterparts by a factor of nearly 2 to 1. Since intervention, however, the enrollment growth rate among Black males (60 per cent) exceeded that of Black females (40 per cent) (NCES, 2008). Needless to say, this good news was welcomed by many.
Black Feminism and Continental Philosophy in dialogue. A range of themes—race and gender, sexuality, otherness, sisterhood, and agency—run throughout this collection, and the chapters constitute a collective discourse at the intersection of Black feminist thought and continental philosophy, converging on a similar set of questions and concerns. These convergences are not random or forced, but are in many ways natural and necessary: the same issues of agency, identity, alienation, and power inevitably are addressed by both camps. Never before has a group of scholars worked together to examine the resources these two traditions can offer one another. By bringing the relationship between these two critical fields of thought to the forefront, the book will encourage scholars to engage in new dialogues about how each can inform the other. If contemporary philosophy is troubled by the fact that it can be too limited, too closed, too white, too male, then this groundbreaking book confronts and challenges these problems.
Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies
by Yvonna S. Lincoln (Editor); Linda Tuhiwai Smith (Editor); Norman K. Denzin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-05-07
The Handbook of Critical Methodologies covers everything from the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research and indigenous peoples to the critical constructs themselves, including race/diversity, gender representation (queer theory, feminism), culture, and politics to the meaning of "critical" concepts within specific disciplines (critical psychology, critical communication/mass communication, media studies, cultural studies, political economy, education, sociology, anthropology, history, etc. - all in an effort to define emancipatory research and explore what critical qualitative research can do for social change and social justice.
A Students' Guide to African American Literature, 1760 to the Present
by Lovalerie King
Publication Date: 2003-10-17
A Students' Guide to African American Literature, 1760 to the Present is designed to assist college students (and others) who are relative novices to the study of African American literature. Focusing on the prose tradition (from early autobiographical narratives to contemporary fiction), the author highlights themes, issues, and motifs peculiar to, and recurring in, African American literature, while providing students with more specific information on a number of key texts.
Presents thirty-nine full-text addresses by women who spoke out while the struggle for civil rights was at its most intense. Many are published or transcribed from audio tape for the first time. Each speech is preceded by an introduction of the speaker and occasion that highlights key biographical and background details. The collection also provides a general introduction that places these public addresses in context.
This Handbook provides a comprehensive guide to these omnipresent issues and debates, mapping the present and future of thinking about feminist theory. The chapters gathered here present the state of the art in scholarship in the field, covering: epistemology and marginality; literary, visual and cultural representations; sexuality; macro and microeconomics of gender; conflict and peace.
Womanist and Feminist Aesthetics
by Tuzyline Jita Allan
Alice Walker's womanist theory about black feminist identity and practice also contains a critique of white liberal feminism. This is the first in-depth study to examine issues of identity and difference within feminism by drawing on Walker's notion of an essential black feminist consciousness. Allan defines womanism as a "(r)evolutionary aesthetic that seeks to fully realize the feminist goal of resistance to patriarchal domination," demonstrated most powerfully in The Color Purple. She also recognizes the complexities and ambiguities embedded in the concept, particularly the notion of a fixed and unitary black feminist identity, separate and distinct from its white counterpart.
Womanist Theological Ethics
by Katie Geneva Cannon (Editor); Emilie M. Townes (Editor); Angela D. Sims (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-10-27
Writing across theological disciplines, nine African American women scholars reflect on what it means to live as responsible doers of justice. With some classic essays and some contributions published here for the first time, each chapter in this new volume in the Library of Theological Ethics series presents analytical strategies for understanding the story of womanist scholarship in the service of the black community. The Library of Theological Ethics series focuses on what it means to think theologically and ethically. It presents a selection of important and otherwise unavailable texts in easily accessible form. Volumes in this series will enable sustained dialogue with predecessors though reflection on classic works in the field.