speeches, reports, minutes, financial papers, scrapbooks, and other papers relating chiefly to the early history and administration of Tuskegee Institute, Tuskegee, Ala., founded by Booker T. Washington in 1881, as well as to the National Negro Business League which he organized in 1900,...
and Arnold Aronson. The records include correspondence, memoranda, minutes, notes of meetings, position papers, reports, financial records, congressional testimony, clippings, printed material, and other records documenting efforts...
, reports, radio and television transcripts, research materials, press releases, clippings, printed materials, posters, photographs, and other papers pertaining to Berry's research on the life and literary career of poet Langston Hughes and to her work on behalf of civil rights and women
HathiTrust (listen to pronunciation) is a growing, global partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 140 members in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
The Our Voices section highlights important ideas and themes within SNCC’s history and presents them in the voices of the activists themselves. Each page is authored by an individual SNCC activist or by multiple activists in conversation with each other.
This is a small sample of influential scholars in the field of African American Studies. For a more extensive list of scholars in the field, check out the PDF file linked below.
Images link to a website about the scholar:
Abdul Alkalimat: Activist, Professor of Library Science at the University of Illinois-Urbana, moderator fo the largest Africana studies discussion list. *Be sure to check out his information on his website as well.
Eliza Valeria Atkins Gleason: The first African American woman to receive a Ph.D. in library science from the University of Chicago in 1940.
John Hope Franklin: Historian, reshaped the discipline through his prolific research.
Information about these scholars originated from the AFAS: African American Studies Librarian Section: the Association of College and Research Librarians, the American Library Association, 1981-2011, ALA New Orleans.
Does justice exist for Blacks in America? This comprehensive compilation of essays documents the historical and contemporary impact of the law and criminal justice system on people of African ancestry in the United States.
What happened to black youth in the post-civil rights generation? What kind of causes did they rally around and were they even rallying in the first place? After the Rebellion takes a close look at a variety of key civil rights groups across the country over the last 40 years to provide a broad view of black youth and social movement activism.Based on both research from a diverse collection of archives and interviews with youth activists, advocates, and grassroots organizers, this book examines popular mobilization among the generation of activists - principally black students, youth, and young adults - who came of age after the passage of the 1964 Civil Rights Act and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Franklin argues that the political environment in the post-Civil Rights era, along with constraints on social activism, made it particularly difficult for young black activists to start and sustain popular mobilization campaigns. Building on case studies from around the countryOCoincluding New York, the Carolinas, California, Louisiana, and BaltimoreOCo After the Rebellion explores the inner workings and end results of activist groups such as the Southern Negro Youth Congress, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, the Student Organization for Black Unity, the Free South Africa Campaign, the New Haven Youth Movement, the Black Student Leadership Network, the Juvenile Justice Reform Movement, and the AFL-CIOOCOs Union Summer campaign. Franklin demonstrates how youth-based movements and intergenerational campaigns have attempted to circumvent modern constraints, providing insight into how the very inner workings of these organizations have and have not been effective in creating change and involving youth. A powerful work of both historical and political analysis, After the Rebellion provides a vivid explanation of what happened to the militant impulse of young people since the demobilization of the civil rights and black power movements - a discussion with great implications for the study of generational politics, racial and black politics, and social movements."
Black Wealth/White Wealth
by Melvin Oliver; Thomas Shapiro
The award-winning Black Wealth / White Wealth offers a powerful portrait of racial inequality based on an analysis of private wealth. Melvin Oliver and Thomas Shapiro's groundbreaking research analyzes wealth - total assets and debts rather than income alone - to uncover deep and persistent racial inequality in America, and they show how public policies have failed to redress the problem. First published in 1995, Black Wealth / White Wealth is considered a classic exploration of race and inequality. It provided, for the first time, systematic empirical evidence that explained the racial inequality gap between blacks and whites. The Tenth Anniversary edition contains two entirely new and substantive chapters. These chapters look at the continuing issues of wealth and inequality in America and the new policies that have been launched in the past ten years. Some have been progressive while others only recreate inequality - for example the proposal to eliminate the estate tax. Compelling and also informative, Black Wealth / White Wealth is not just pioneering research. It is also a powerful counterpoint to arguments against affirmative action and a direct challenge to current social welfare policies that are tilted towards the wealthy.
Contemporary Issues in the Sociology of Race and Ethnicity
by George J. Sefa Dei; Meredith Lordan
Contemporary Issues in the Sociology of Race and Ethnicity: A Critical Reader occupies, expands, and challenges the issues raised by critical race theory. Fleshing out the theoretical pillars of Critical Anti-Racist Theory (CART) as its central organizing framework, this text responds to the central issue of race in terms of public and academic discourses, meta-narratives, and its implications for social policy. Drawing from popular culture, this edited collection features a variety of real-world analyses, from media bias to contentious Africentric school programs. This collection serves as a timely and accessible text for academic and wider audiences. In addition to outlining the philosophical underpinnings of CART, the text considers how this theory may inform current socio-political dynamics in a wide, globally-reaching range of areas. This book could be used in the undergraduate and graduate levels in these disciplines: Anthropology, Diaspora Studies, Education, Ethnic Studies, Law, Multiculturalism Studies, Politics, Social Work, and Sociology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
From Education to Incarceration
by Anthony J. Nocella
The school-to-prison pipeline is a national concern, from the federal to local governments, and a leading topic in conversations in the field of urban education and juvenile justice. From Education to Incarceration: Dismantling the School-to-Prison Pipeline is a ground-breaking book that exposes the school system's direct relationship to the juvenile justice system. The book reveals various tenets contributing to unnecessary expulsions, leaving youth vulnerable to the streets and, ultimately, behind bars.
A History of Racism and Terrorism, Rebellion and Overcoming
by Paul Alfred Barton
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
One of the greatest social problems facing the world today is racism. Racism takes on different forms in different regions. Yet, the ancient origins of racism is unknown to most people. Who invented racism? Did Western Europeans invent racism and was racism a problem during Greek and Roman times? The answers to these questions will facinate many. In fact, the nation that actually invented the earliest, organized system of racism still has a very ancient and sophisticated form of racism today that hampers the progress of this nation and keeps more than three quarters of its people in the worst poverty and squalor imaginable. Racism and slavery in Europe began about the time of the Middle Ages. Religion and religious mythology were used by many to perpetrate racism, justify slavery and establish institutionalized racism in nation around the world. This work brings to the forefront the trick of "brotherhood," among some religious imperialists who are quick to convert others to their religions, while maintaining racist texts and practices today. The book also places an emphasis on the many slave rebellions that have occurred since European and Semitic enslavement of Blacks. At the end of this great work is a positive light which explains the overcoming of those who were enslaved through rebellion, struggle, faith and the good will of the free, and how the former slaves and their descendants have contributed to creating a great America and world today.
The New Jim Crow
by Michelle Alexander; Cornel West (Introduction by)
Call Number: UMCP Art Library HV9950 .A437 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
In a bold and innovative argument, a rising legal star shows readers how the mass incarceration of a disproportionate number of black men amounts to a devastating system of racial control. This is a terrifying reality that exists in the UK as much as in the US. Despite the triumphant dismantling of the Jim Crow laws, the system that once forced African-Americans into a segregated second-class citizenship still haunts and the criminal justice system still unfairly targets black men and deprives an entire segment of the population of their basic rights.
Policing the Planet
by Jordan T. Camp (Editor); Christina Heatherton (Editor)
This book, combining first-hand accounts from organizers with the interventions of scholars and contributions by leading artists, traces the global rise of the "broken-windows" strategy of policing, first established in New York City under Police Commissioner William Bratton, a doctrine that has vastly broadened police power and contributed to the contemporary crisis of policing that has been sparked by notorious incidents of police brutality and killings. With contributions from #BlackLivesMatter cofounder Patrisse Cullors, Ferguson activist and St. Louis University law professor Justin Hansford, poet Martín Espada, scholars Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Robin D.G. Kelley, Naomi Murakawa, Vijay Prashad, and many more.
Race and Place
by Susan Welch; Timothy Bledsoe; Michael W. Combs; Lee Sigelman; Dennis Chong (Contribution by); James H. Kuklinski (Contribution by)
A striking but little recognized change in race relations during the past two decades has seen the declining levels of racial segregation in most of America's major metropolitan areas. More American cities are beginning to have black and white residents. An integral component of this decline in residential segregation has been the large-scale movement of blacks to the suburbs. This book focuses on the attitudes and behavior of African Americans and whites. Will whites' attitudes about blacks and blacks' attitudes toward whites change if they are living in integrated neighborhoods rather than apart from one another? Are black suburbanites more likely to share the views of their fellow white suburbanites or of their fellow African Americans in the central city? Will residential integration and new patterns of race in the suburbs break down divisions between blacks and whites in their views of local public services?
The Rising Tide of Color challenges familiar narratives of race in American history that all too often present the U.S. state as a benevolent force in struggles against white supremacy, especially in the South. Featuring a wide range of scholars specializing in American history and ethnic studies, this powerful collection of essays highlights historical moments and movements on the Pacific Coast and across the Pacific to reveal a different story of race and politics. From labor and anticolonial activists around World War I and multiracial campaigns by anarchists and communists in the 1930s to the policing of race and sexuality after World War II and transpacific movements against the Vietnam War, The Rising Tide of Color brings to light histories of race, state violence, and radical movements that continue to shape our world in the twenty-first century.