Why Use Databases?
Databases are subscription resources that bring articles from a variety of magazines and/or journals into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Many of the databases allow you to read the entire article online. All databases that UMD Libraries subscribe to can be accessed through Database Finder.
This tutorial explains the differences between a subscription based library database and a free search engine. It explains when and how to use each.
What if there is no full-text? Try:
Watch these short video tutorials to learn how to search the databases
Search multiple databases at once
EBSCOhost and ProQuest are platforms that house approximately 60 to 75 databases. In order to get the best search results your should select the databases you need (i.e. if your subject is education you would limit your search to education databases) . To do this go to the top of the homepage and look for the terms All databases, Change databases, or Choose databases. See examples below.
Doing research off-campus? Try out the UMD Libraries reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UMD Libraries proxy.
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar or right click and select the "Bookmark This Link" option.
Chrome or Safari:
Drag the button to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks toolbar isn't visible, press Ctrl + Shift + B (in Chrome).
Right click the button and choose the "Add to favorites..." option. You may get a warning about adding unsafe links. While it's good practice to be wary, we believe this link is safe.
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the A to Z list.