Philippine and Filipino American History & Heritage
This guides primarily describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research on the history of the Philipines and the experience of Filipino Americans. The guide also directs researchers to collections and resources beyond the UMD Libraries.
Books on the Philippines and Filipino Americans can be found primarily in two places on the College Park campus. The first is McKeldin Library, the main campus library. The shelves are browseable and most of the materials there can be checked out. The second is Hornbake Library, which houses the campus's Archives and Manuscripts as well as its many special book collections. The materials in this library are non-circulating, which means that they must be read in the Special Collections Research Room in Hornbake, the Maryland Room. The Maryland Room has different hours than the library itself, so double-check them before you plan your visit. When you search the catalog, pay special attention to the location of each book, as they may be located in different libraries.
Click here for a campus map showing library locations.
Additionally, the Asian-American Studies Program has an indpendent library of books that are not cataloged by the UMD Libraries. Contact the AAST Program for more information on how to access these materials.
Recommended Subject Search Terms
These selected terms will help you find items in the catalog pertaining to the Philippines and Filipino Americans. This is not an exhaustive list of terms and you can browse additional terms once you are in the catalog. From the UMD Libraries hompage chose the "Classic Catalog" link (under the main search box) and then select "Subject beginning with..." from the drop-down menu. Cut and paste one of the bulleted terms below exactly as it appears below:
Filipino Americans -- History
Filipino American -- Literary Collections
Filipino Americans - Race Identity
Filipino Americans -- Social Conditions
Philippines -- Bibliography
Philippines -- Civilization
Philippines -- Economic Conditions
Philippines -- Emigration and Immigration
Philippines -- Foreign Relations -- United States
Philippines -- History
Philippines -- Politics and Government
Philippines -- Relations -- United States
Philippines -- Social conditions
Philippines -- Social Life and Customs
Filipino American communities in the "Images of America" series
There are many books about Filipino American Communities available in the Arcadia Publishing, "Images of America" Series. Below is a listing of some examples. Search the UMD Libraries online catalog for availability.
Filipinos in Carson and the South Bay, Florante Peter Ibanez and Roselyn Esepe Ibanez, 2009
Filipinos in Chicago, Estrella Ravelo Alamar and Willi Reed Buhay, 2001
Filipinos in the East Bay, Evangeline Canonizado and Evelyn Luluquisen, 2008
Filipinos in Hawai'I, Theodore S. Gonzalves and Roderick N. Labrador, 2011
Filipinos in Hollywood, Carina Monica Montoya, 2008
Filipinos in Los Angeles, Mae Respcio Koerner, 2007
Filipinos in New York City, Kevin L. Nadal, 2015
Filipinos in Greater Philadelphia, Eliseo Art Silva and Filipino American Association of Philadelphia Inc., 2012
Filipinos in Puget Sound, Dorothy Laido Cordova and Filipino American National Historical Society, 2009
Filipinos in San Diego, Judy Patacsil and Rudy Guevarra, Jr., 2010
Filipinos in San Francisco, Filipino American National Historical Society, 2011
Filipinos in Stockton, Dawn B. Mabalon, Ph.D. and Rico Reyes, 2008.
Filipinos in Willamette Valley, Tyrone Lim and Dolly Pangan-Specht, 2010
Filipinos in Vallejo, el Orpilla, 2005
Filipinos in Ventura County, Elnora Kelly Tayag, 2011
Los Angeles's Historic Filipinotown, CA, Carina Monica Montoya, 2009
Filipino Americans, like many ethnic groups in America, are complex and heterogeneous. This book documents how Filipino Americans have grown within the context of political forces, the prevailing social order, rights and responsibilities of individuals, economic success, and the American Dream. Lott shows how Filipino Americans have become active participants in the American democracy and why active civic participation is crucial to any emerging ethnic group. Her controversial thesis is that the twenty-first century will not be defined by the color line but by a more basic human relationship-the adult/child connection-because no society can survive without sustained commitment and shared sacrifice by adult men and women for the welfare of future generations.
Filipinos in Washington, D. C.
by Rita M. Cacas; Juanita Tamayo Lott
Filipinos arrived in the Washington, D.C., area shortly after 1900 upon the annexation of the Philippines to the United States. These new settlers included students, soldiers, seamen, and laborers. Within four decades, they became permanent residents, military servicemen, government workers, and community leaders. Although numerous Filipinos now live in the area, little is known about the founders of the Filipino communities. Images of America: Filipinos in Washington, D.C. captures an ethnic history and documents historical events and political transitions that occurred here.
Forever in Our Hearts
by Nita Smith
Call Number: Hornbake MD Room IN PROCESS
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Forever in Our Hearts is the heartfelt rendition of one woman's perspective of growing up in an orphanage in Washington, DC, in the 1950s and 1960s under the care of the Daughters of Charity. Her story begins when she and her younger sister are taken from their comfortable home with relatives on Capitol Hill to live in the institution. The changing mission of the Catholic Church and Catholic Charities and the diminishing census at the home brought a closing of St. Vincent's, but the ties to those devoted nuns have never been severed. The story describes how every morning "Sister" would turn on the overhead light and pray, "Live Jesus." The girls would respond, "Forever in our hearts." Ms. Smith invites you to relive those experiences that she has cherished, through her anecdotes and the voices and spirits of her many sisters.
The Latinos of Asia
by Anthony Christian Ocampo
Call Number: UMCP HBK MD Room Stack IN PROCESS
Publication Date: 2016-03-02
Is race only about the color of your skin? In The Latinos of Asia, Anthony Christian Ocampo shows that what "color" you are depends largely on your social context. Filipino Americans, for example, helped establish the Asian American movement and are classified by the U.S. Census as Asian. But the legacy of Spanish colonialism in the Philippines means that they share many cultural characteristics with Latinos, such as last names, religion, and language. Thus, Filipinos' "color"--their sense of connection with other racial groups--changes depending on their social context. The Filipino story demonstrates how immigration is changing the way people negotiate race, particularly in cities like Los Angeles where Latinos and Asians now constitute a collective majority. Amplifying their voices, Ocampo illustrates how second-generation Filipino Americans' racial identities change depending on the communities they grow up in, the schools they attend, and the people they befriend. Ultimately, The Latinos of Asia offers a window into both the racial consciousness of everyday people and the changing racial landscape of American society.
From the perspectives of ethnic studies, history, literary criticism, and legal studies, the original essays in this volume examine the ways in which the colonial history of the Philippines has shaped Filipino American identity, culture, and community formation. The contributors address the dearth of scholarship in the field as well as show how an understanding of this complex history provides a foundation for new theoretical frameworks for Filipino American studies.
Say Uncle!: Life in DC with My Filipino Uncles
by Nita Mondonedo Smith
Call Number: Hornbake MD Room IN PROCESS
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
What was it like growing up in the Nations Capital in the 1950s and 1960s? Fall in love with 10 enchanting Filipino uncles. Read their stories of courage, stamina and wit. Discover what circumstances brought them and waves of other immigrants from the cities and barrios of Manila, Pangasinan, Marinduque, Cavite and La Union to Washington, D. C. between the years 1913 to 1961.
by Christine Bacareza Balance
Call Number: UMCP Performing Arts Library ML3560.P4 B353 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-22
In Tropical Renditions Christine Bacareza Balance examines how the performance and reception of post-World War II Filipino and Filipino American popular music provide crucial tools for composing Filipino identities, publics, and politics. To understand this dynamic, Balance advocates for a "disobedient listening" that reveals how Filipino musicians challenge dominant racialized U.S. imperialist tropes of Filipinos as primitive, childlike, derivative, and mimetic. Balance disobediently listens to how the Bay Area turntablist DJ group the Invisibl Skratch Piklz bear the burden of racialized performers in the United States and defy conventions on musical ownership; to karaoke as affective labor, aesthetic expression, and pedagogical instrument; to how writer and performer Jessica Hagedorn's collaborative and improvisational authorial voice signals the importance of migration and place; and how Pinoy indie rock scenes challenge the relationship between race and musical genre by tracing the alternative routes that popular music takes. In each instance Filipino musicians, writers, visual artists, and filmmakers work within and against the legacies of the U.S./Philippine imperial encounter, and in so doing, move beyond preoccupations with authenticity and offer new ways to reimagine tropical places.
Vanishing Filipino Americans
by Peter Jamero
Call Number: UMCP MCK Stacks E184.F4 J47 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Documentation of Filipino American history is largely limited to the Manong Generation that immigrated to the United States during the early 1900s. Their second-generation children-the Bridge Generation-are now in their sixties, seventies, and eighties; however, the literature is silent regarding their life in America. Vanishing Filipino Americans explores the Bridge Generation's growing up years; their maturation as participants in Filipino youth clubs; their development of a unique subculture; their civic participation; and their triumphs and struggles in America's workforce. Jamero begins the process of documenting the experiences and contributions of these second-generation Filipino Americans, addressing a significant void in the history of Filipinos in America.
10 Outstanding Filipino Scientists
by Queena N. Lee-Chua
Call Number: Special Collections, Maryland Room IN PROCESS
Publication Date: 2000.
Ramon Cabanos Barba, mango hero -- Josefino Cacas Comiso, space-based antarctic explorer -- Jose Bejar Cruz, Jr., electrical engineer extraordinaire -- Lourdes Jansuy Cruz, sea snail venom specialist -- Fabian Millar Dayrit, herbal medicine investigator -- Rafael Dineros Guerrero III, Tilapia sex engineer -- Enrique Mapua Ostrea, Jr., drug buster -- Lilian Formalejo Pateña, plant biotechnology whiz -- Mari-Jo Panganiban Ruiz, outstanding educator and graph theorist -- Gregory Ligot Tangonan, communications innovator.
Filipinos, forgotten Asian Americans : a pictorial essay, 1763-circa 1963
by Cordova, Frank
Call Number: MD Room, Hornbake Library, IN PROCESS
Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Appropriation of colonial broadcasting : a history of early radio in the Philippines, 1922-1946
by Elizabeth L. Enriquez
Call Number: UMCP HBK MD Room Mass Media and Culture Stacks HE8699.P6 E57 2008
Chop suey. Sushi. Curry. Adobo. Kimchi. The deep associations Asians in the United States have with food have become ingrained in the American popular imagination. So much so that contentious notions of ethnic authenticity and authority are marked by and argued around images and ideas of food. a Eating Asian America: A Food Studies Readera collects burgeoning new scholarship in Asian American Studies that centers the study of foodways and culinary practices in our understanding of the racialized underpinnings of Asian Americanness. It does so by bringing together twenty scholars from across the disciplinary spectrum to inaugurate a new turn in food studies: the refusal to yield to a superficial multiculturalism that naively celebrates difference and reconciliation through the pleasures of food and eating. By focusing on multi-sited struggles across various spaces and times, the contributors to this anthology bring into focus the potent forces of class, racial, ethnic, sexual and gender inequalities that pervade and persist in the production of Asian American culinary and alimentary practices, ideas, and images. This is the first collection to consider the fraught itineraries of Asian American immigrant histories and how they are inscribed in the production and dissemination of ideas about Asian American foodways. aa Robert Ji-Song Ku ais Associate Professor of Asian and Asian American Studies at Binghamton University. He is the author ofa Dubious Gastronomy: The Cultural Politics of Eating Asian in the USA . a Martin F. Manalansan IV ais Associate Professor of Anthropology and Asian American Studies at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He is the author ofa Global Divas: Filipino Gay Men in the Diaspora . a Anita Mannura is Associate Professor of English and Asian /Asian American Studies at Miami University. She is the author ofa Culinary Fictions: Food in South Asian Diasporic Culture .