Research Guides: COMM 298L: Selected Topics in Communication; Persuasion and Communication in the Digital Society: Databases & Articles

Databases

Journal articles and other resources are best found by searching in one or more database. Databases are usually subscription resources that bring articles and other materials from a variety of sources (including professional journals) into one place with a sophisticated search engine. Use the databases below to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to your topic.

To search the available databases, go to the Library Home Page, and then click on the databases link. From here, you can either search by database name or by subject area. Be sure to read about the databases before beginning your searches. You will want to start your search in the best database for your topic that you can find. Beginning in a mediocre database will make searching difficult.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media
and other closely-related fields. Combines the resources formerly known as
CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCAs six journals, and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. EBSCO has combined and expanded the extensive coverage of these two resources to create CMMC.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
This collection of market reports produced by the Institute for Motivational Research, Inc. along with a selection of advertisements document American consumer culture between 1935 and 1965. The reports and ads cover a wide range of consumer industries, including clothing and accessories, food and drink, and sport and leisure.
History of the American Cinema
This ten-volume set covers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century up to 1990. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. Each volume focuses on a separate decade, providing a narrative on the evolution of both the business and the art of film in America.
Nation Digital Archive
The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long bee regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
New Republic Archive
The New Republic, founded in 1914, presents insights from a variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, foreign policy, culture, current events, the arts, and much more. The New Republic Archive contains more than 4,550 issues, with coverage dating back to 1914. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals.

Guide to Political Campaigns in America 2005
Covers all aspects of political campaigns including history, issues, processes and people, and types of campaigns.
The Influencing Machine
"A visionary and opinionated work of graphic nonfiction on the media and its discontents.
Nearly one million weekly listeners trust NPR's Brooke Gladstone to guide them through the distortions and complexities of the modern media. This brilliant radio personality now bursts onto the page as an illustrated character in vivid comics drawn by acclaimed artist Josh Neufeld. The cartoon of Brooke conducts the reader through two millennia of history-from the newspapers in Caesar's Rome to the penny press of the American Revolution and the manipulations of contemporary journalism. Gladstone's manifesto debunks the notion that "The Media" is an external force, outside of our control, since we've begun directly constructing, filtering, and responding to what we watch and read. With fascinating digressions, sobering anecdotes, and brave analytical wit, The Influencing Machine equips us to be smart, savvy, informed consumers and shapers of the media. It shows that we have met the media and it is us. So now what?" (from Amazon.com)

Database Search Tips

Log in: Most databases allow you to create a user login, which will enable you to save your searches.

Find It: If there does not appear to be full text provided for an article you need, click the "Find It" button to see if it can be found elsewhere online, or if the University of Maryland owns a print copy.

Advanced Search: Most databases have advanced search options that will allow refine your search to find relevant, scholarly sources for your paper.