Skip to main content

Architecture, Historic Preservation, Real Estate Development and Urban Studies and Planning: Finding Sources

This guide covers how to identify relevant and reliable sources for research, how to navigate online and in-person resources at the University of Maryland and how to cite sources within a research product.

Finding Sources

Databases related to Architecture, Preservation, Planning and Real Estate Development.

Searching in a Database

  • Once you get into a database, take some time to explore the various search options, play with drop-down menus, and figure out what features will be useful to you.
  • Useful limiters to refine your search: 
    • Academic "scholarly" journals
    • Publication date
    • Language
    • Subject Thesaurus Term
  • Databases do not rank search results by popularity, so try different keyword combinations. To search using multiple keywords, use Boolean operators:
    • AND (searches for both terms)
    • OR (searches for either word)
    • AND NOT (excludes the following word from search)
    • "....." (searches for words within the quotes as a phrase)
    • * (in the place of a suffix, searches for all possible word endings)
  • From many databases, you can export your chosen results list directly to a bibliographic citation manager; if not, you can e-mail it to yourself. Citation managers can also help you format your citations into the right style for a bibliography and insert them into your paper as you compose.
  • Be careful using "Cite" buttons that generate automatic citations. These are not always correct! 
  • Some additional University of Maryland guides:

Finding Print Sources

  • Use the catalog to search for books, e-books, maps, microfilm, newspaper and journal titles, video and sound materials, and UM theses/dissertations up until 2004 (after that, they are in DRUM).
  • Note which library the book is located (Architecture, Art, McKeldin),  the call number and whether it is STACKS or FOLIO. 
  • Visit the library to locate the book, or select "Hold" to place a hold on the book and have it sent to the library of your choice.

How do I find a book or periodical in the Architecture Library?

  • STACKS is located on the second floor, and FOLIO on the first floor. 
  • When you find your book on the shelf, take a minute to browse to its left and right to find similar sources. 
  • Take the book to the circulation desk to check it out or use self-check out. 

What if the book I want is not available at UMD or is checked out? 

  • Try UBorrow, on the Libraries home page. Requesting a book through UBorrow means that any of the 15 Universities in the Big Ten Academic Alliance will send you the book from their collection, usually within a week.
  • Try the catalogs for the Washington Research Libraries Consortium or WorldCat, which cover libraries throughout the country and beyond.
  • If UM does not have what you need, try an Interlibrary Loan.
  • If the book is checked out, you can place a hold on it so you receive it when it becomes available. Select "Hold" in the catalog record for the book you want. 

UBorrow Tutorial 

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

ArchDaily (current architecture)

http://www.archdaily.com/ 

ARCHNET

http://archnet.org/ 

Library of Congress American Memory Project

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ 

University of Maryland Digital Collections

http://digital.lib.umd.edu/results?index1=dmSubjectBrowse&query1=Architecture%2c+Landscape%2c+Historic+Places

University of Washington Digital Collections

http://content.lib.washington.edu/buildingsweb/index.html

Search the University of Maryland catalog to find theses and dissertations from the University of Maryland. Those published before 2000 are available by request in print form in Hornbake Library's Maryland Room. Contact askhornbake@umd.edu for more information.

DRUM, the University of Maryland's digital repository, contains all thesis and dissertations from 2000-present online.

The School Library contains architecture thesis documents from the mid-1980's to 1999, shelved in the Folio section. 

Hornbake Library contains special collections and archival material related to Historic Preservation. Contact askhornbake@umd.edu to find out more or to schedule a reference session.

 Library of Congress Stairway

Loading ...