Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries.
You may also search using the provided subject terms, including the "Agriculture," and "Environment (MD)" categories.
Databases and Journals
Databases are subscription resources that bring together articles and other types of research materials into one place with the assistance of a search engine. There are many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more. Databases can be accessed via this guide or from the library's homepage.
Database Finder offers online access to databases and journal articles, and is available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students. A selection of these resources is provided below.
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Congressional Publications (Proquest) gives access to the full text of congressional publications which include: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate Documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills public laws, regulations, etc. In particular this database allows you to search for, view and download Congressional Serial Set maps, which include the state of Maryland.
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories. Includes new video and transcripts.
The Washington Post (1877-1996) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications