Special Collections in Hornbake Library at University of Maryland house personal papers and manuscript collections documenting all aspects of Maryland history and culture.
The pages listed under the Archives and Manuscripts section of this guide link to ArchivesUM guides that can be used to research different topics on the Maryland environment.
To find documents from archival collections, browse the various collection descriptions to identify materials that cover your area of interest. Then, click on the finding aid link for a more detailed look at the type of materials included in the collection, the scope of the dates covered, and a general inventory of boxes and/or folders. Archival collections can be requested in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library.
Some notable collections include:
Chesapeake Bay Foundation archives: This non-profit organization was established to promote the preservation of the ecological well-being of the Chesapeake Bay through conserving its natural resources, combating pollution, and educating the public. Important issues documented in the foundation's records include the environment of the Bay, as well as actions proposed and undertaken to eliminate threats to this environment. Other subjects addressed are: the Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant, Piney Point Oil Refinery, development of the Goodwin Islands, and Kent County gravel operations.
Maryland Agricultural Experiment Station records: This organization was established to improve the practice and profitability of agriculture through the application of the resources of science. The MAES records cover the administrative, research, university, and national activities of the station. Topics related to Maryland's environment include: forestry, soil conservation, botany, horticulture, and entomology.
Phi Mu Fraternity: Initiates to this engineering honor society were required to prepare a research paper on an engineering topic of their choice. Among these papers, many of which deal with aspects of the history of the state of Maryland and the District of Columbia, are a number which address environmental topics including various histories and accounts of construction of rivers, bridges, roads, highways, buildings, mills, sewage systems, and water supplies.
Romeo Mansueti papers: Mansueti was a biologist and research professor at the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory and the University of Maryland. Among his papers are files documenting his research on fish migration, bionomics of freshwater and estuarine fish populations, and the taxonomy and ecology of fish eggs.
Sierra Club, Maryland Chapter Archives: The Sierra Club, Maryland Chapter, can trace its origins to the establishment of the club's Southeastern Chapter in 1968. This chapter eventually split into several smaller groups, among them the Potomac Chapter, which had members in Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. The Maryland Chapter monitors legislation, works to save natural areas from development, sponsors outings, and disseminates information on environmental matters. The chapter's records include minutes, newsletters, treasurer's reports, bylaws, and calendars of activities. An additional box received in 2007 (Accession 2007-33), relates to endangered species, wetlands protection, waste management, recycling, mass transit, roads, erosion, and pesticides.
Select archival and special collection materials have been digitized and made available online through the Digital Collection @ the University of Maryland, a searchable digital repository of scanned materials from the University of Maryland's libraries.
Use the advanced search to search collection by keywords.
You may also search using the provided subject terms, including the "Agriculture," and "Environment (MD)" categories.