Skip to main content

Finding new music: A guide

This guide is meant to be a resource for college musicians as they search for new works to perform. This is a compilation of a few resources that the library provides, as well as a few suggestions of where to look outside the library

This page includes

-What are Alexander Street Press Databases?

-Creating an ASP account

-Creating Personal Playlists

-ASP Mobile

Alexander Street includes:

Quick Links: Audio Databases

What are Alexander Street Press Databases? (ASP)

Alexander Street Databases are a large multi-label database of recordings and videos with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students. Audio and video tracks are supplemented by reference materials and backed by tools allowing users to create their own Playlists or to click on Themed Playlists that group tracks in various ways: e.g., by music textbook, composer, performer, style period, genre.

Note: You must access this database online and set up an individual account before you can send items from these databases to a mobile device.

Creating an ASP Account

Create an individual account at http://search.alexanderstreet.com/user/register. This will allow you to create playlists and listen on your mobile device.

Creating Personal Playlists

It's easy to create your own playlists of tracks from ASP databases. Here's how:

  • In the search bar, type the name of a piece, composer, or recording you would like to add to your playlist
  • Select one or more tracks or albums from the list by checking the box(es) next to the title
  • Continue searching for items you wish to add to your playlist. Anything you select will be temporarily stored in the Items Selected. When you're ready to set up the playlist, click View list in the upper right-hand corner.

  • The next screen displays your selected tracks. From the menu options on the right, select Add to playlist.
  • You will be prompted to add the items to an existing playlist or create and name a new playlist. 

  • Now you can click the Edit this page button to edit your playlist. Reorder tracks by dragging and dropping, delete tracks by clicking the trash can icon, or add text in the description field for the playlist or for individual tracks. When you're done, click Save changes
  • The page for your playlist is also where you can set who can see this playlist. Playlists are private by default, but if you wish to share yours with a class or with other ASP users, you can select the appropriate option from the dropdown menu.

ASP Mobile

  • Open any Alexander Street Press streaming music database from your laptop or desktop
  • Look for the cell phone icon  on any track, album, or playlist
  • Once clicked on, this icon will provide three ways of accessing the item through the UMD wifi network: you can choose to have a text or email message containing the item’s URL sent to your phone, you can type the URL into your mobile browser, or you can scan the item’s QR code.

  • Shortlinks are available only on the subscribing institution’s network, so the link will not work off-campus
  • Link is active for 48 hours
  • Supported devices: iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, and Blackberry on the 3G network, mobile device with Android OS
  • ASP expects to release a full mobile app in 2015, so stay tuned!

Did you know?

You can create personal playlists on ASP and access ASP from your phone. Read on in the middle column for more info!