Skip to main content

Finding new music: A guide

This guide is meant to be a resource for college musicians as they search for new works to perform. This is a compilation of a few resources that the library provides, as well as a few suggestions of where to look outside the library

Uncataloged Scores in the Performing Arts Library

Most uncataloged gift collections of scores in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library have inventories. These collections include:

20th/21st-Century Consort Score Collection: many scores fully cataloged, but for complete inventory, contact Special Collections in Performing Arts

American Composers Alliance Scores on Deposit: Online inventory

Contemporary Music Project Archives Scores: Online inventory

International Clarinet Association Research Center Score Collection: Online inventory

Piano Music Score Collection: contact International Piano Archives at Maryland

Following is a partial list of score collections that have been inventoried by staff in Special Collections in Performing Arts. Some printed inventories are shelved in the Lowens Room for Special Collections of the PA Library. Contact SCPA for more information.

  • American Bandmasters Association Research Center Scores
  • Community Songbooks
  • Gillian B. Anderson Film Music Scores
  • Ginn & Co. Folk Music Collection
  • Maryland Sheet Music Collection
  • Minichini Band Scores
  • National Association of Wind and Percussion Instructors Research Center Scores
  • Manuscript and printed scores of individual composers, including Philip Gordon, Alice Parker, Claude T. Smith, Lynn Steele, and George Tremblay
  • School Music Textbooks (historical collection)

Scores in Other UM Libraries

To do a thorough search for scores in UM Libraries, do not limit your search to the Performing Arts Library.

At College Park, a substantial number of scores are in microfilm collections at McKeldin Library.

Some scores not owned in College Park Libraries are in the USMAI Libraries system. In the catalog, searching USMAI (all campuses) broadens your chances of finding what you need.

For example, doing an all-campus search on 'children's' as subject word and 'scores' as format will yield 407 hits. Doing the same search with just UMCP as location yields only 373 hits and searching just in the PA Library yields only 254 hits.

A note on Juvenile scores

  • : Although USMAI has many juvenile scores shelved in the Library of Congress classification system's M series, at UMCP's McKeldin Library (2nd floor) and some USMAI campus libraries, juvenile scores have call numbers in the Dewey classification system's 780 series. You can do a basic search on call number '780' in Catalog - USMAI (all campuses) to browse these scores.

Scores deposited as UM theses and dissertations are available for study in the PA Library, the Maryland Room at Hornbake Library, and, full text from 1997 to the present, in Digital Dissertations Full Text, where dissertation scores from other universities are also available to UM Libraries researchers.