Skip to main content

ENGL379Z/WMST 498V: Special Topics in Literature; Women and Memory in Material and Digital Worlds

This guide will assist students of ENGL379Z/WMST 498V (Spring 2017, Professor Jessica Enoch) in finding information resources for their projects.

Why is citing important?

There are several reasons why it is important to cite your sources:

  • Providing citations gives the proper credit to the person or group who spent the time researching and writing a secondary source work that provided you with information.
  • Citing allows your reader to find the source later if she wants to read it herself.
  • Citing experts provides credibility to the argument of your paper.
  • This indicates that you did a thorough job researching your topic.

WASM Entries Citation Tips

WASM Entries Citation Tips

  • Make sure to follow The Chicago Manual of Style or Turabian Style Guides (or Turabian) for citations.  This is the citation format that historians use!   The Chicago Manual of Style has a citation quick guide online. 
  • When citing newspapers or anything within subscription databases, do not just copyu the link from your browser for the subscription database and use it in your citation.  No one outside of the University of Maryland will be able to track down your citation!
  • Instead, make sure to cite your newspaper like these examples:
    • “The September 16 Demonstration,” The Suffragist, September 21, 1918.
    • “Suffrage Vote in Colorado,” Washington Post, November 16, 1919.
    • Winifred Mallon, "Some Measures Now Pending in Congress in Which Women Have a Special  Interest,” Evening Star, March 26, 1922. (if the name of the author/reporter is known include it!)
    • For other published sources within subscription databases, such as books or pamphlets, follow the Chicago style as you would for a print version of this material.
  • If you are citing a true website or a published source that is available online (outside of a subscription database), follow the following sytle (recommended by the WASM editors).  You can also include the date accessed as well for even more accuracy.

    The Association for the Preservation of Historic Congressional Cemetery has a pamphlet titled Congressional Cemetery Walking Tour: Suffrage! (http://www.congressionalcemetery.org/pdf/Walking-Tours/Suffrage.pdf) that contains a brief biography of Winifred and shows the location of her grave in the cemetery (last accessed March 1, 2017).  Additionally, there is an oral history transcript from and interview with Alice Paul that contains some biographical information about Winifred: Conversations with Alice Paul: Woman Suffrage and Equal Rights Amendment: Oral history Transcript, 1972-1976, University of California Berkeley, 1976. (Available on the Internet Archive) https://archive.org/stream/conversationsalice00paulrich/conversationsalice00paulrich_djvu.txt

  • If you need help with citations, please don't hesitate to ask a librarian or archivist or your instructor for assistance!