Use the same search strategies as you would use for databases.
If using combinations, the connectors must be in caps:
identify AND (homosexual* OR lgbt)
Be sure to look for Held by: University of Maryland, College Park
More than 600 informative entries that focus on the gay and lesbian subculture or the latter half of the Twentieth Century. Also contains useful lists (e.g. annual winners of a number of different gay literary awards), a 75 page chronology of the history of "queer experiences," and entertaining facts (e.g. famous homophobes, gay rights slogans, and Gay Games statistics).
This 2008 translation of Dictionnaire de l"Homophobie deals with the history of legal, political and social mistreatment of gays and lesbians worldwide. 70 authors from 15 countries wrote this book's 165 essays. They are sorted in the following categories: theories used to justify homophobia; agents and victims of homophobia throughout history; individual nations and regions; institutions and environments where homophobia is manifested; and topics found in antiqueer rhetoric.
Encyclopedia that looks at gender issues, people, and events in contemporary society. Covering a wide range of gender topics, this encyclopedia includes many items of particular interest to LGBT researchers. Examples of such topics include Bisexuality, "Don't Ask, Don't Tell," Drag King, Homosexuality, Homophobia, Lesbian Feminism, Lesbian Separatism, Queer, Sexual Identities & Socialization, and Transgender Political Organization.
Dictionary to gay Polari and gay slang."Polari has been the secret language of gay men and women through the twentieth century. "A carefully researched and entertaining read, Fantabulosa presents a lexicon of Polari and a more general dictionary of lesbian and gay slang."--BOOK JACKET.
This handbook Explores the contentious history of the international gay rights movement from its inception in Germany in the 1800s to the beginning of this century, covering the wide range of issues that affect the gay/lesbian community, including AIDS, child custody and adoption, employment marriage, the military, and public attitudes. In addition to providing information on these individual issues, this book includes chapters that cover gay history, a chronology of the gay movement, biographical sketches, legal information, and a directory of organizations.
The original site housed the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture, but closed on August 1, 2015. Most of the encyclopedia's entries, essays, and interviews have been archived online.
Over 3000 entries that pertain to English language (i.e. British, but also some U.S. and Australian) cinema, television, and radio. Includes a wide range of information on such things as persons in the professions, characters in fiction, character names, film and program titles, and abstract subject essays. Both useful and great fun.
75 Years of Gay and Lesbian Images in the Movies,1,000 plus film listings.,Includes 5 star ratings, plots, credits, ratings,for sex and nudity, trivia, index, filmography,video rental sources, photos and more.
Call Number: UMCP HBK Mass Media & Culture Stacks | PN1995.9.H55 P37 1993
Hollywood's depiction of gays and lesbians has almost always been stereotypical, from the extremely effeminate characters portrayed by Franklin Pangborn, Eric Blore and Grady Sutton in the 1930s to the gay characters in To Be or Not to Be (1983) and Torch Song Trilogy (1988). A contrasting depiction--the homicidal homosexual--has been the basis for such popular films as Looking for Mr. Goodbar (1977). This comprehensive filmography to homosexual characters in mainstream movies, 1914-1992, includes full cast and credits, production information, reviews, and an analysis of the film with an essay blending critical commentary and a synopsis of each film.
Proposing a radical vision of cinema's queer globalism, Karl Schoonover and Rosalind Galt explore how queer filmmaking intersects with international sexual cultures, geopolitics, and aesthetics to disrupt dominant modes of world making. Whether in its exploration of queer cinematic temporality, the paradox of the queer popular, or the deviant ecologies of the queer pastoral, Schoonover and Galt reimagine the scope of queer film studies. The authors move beyond the gay art cinema canon to consider a broad range of films from Chinese lesbian drama and Swedish genderqueer documentary to Bangladeshi melodrama and Bolivian activist video. Schoonover and Galt make a case for the centrality of queerness in cinema and trace how queer cinema circulates around the globe-institutionally via film festivals, online consumption, and human rights campaigns, but also affectively in the production of a queer sensorium. In this account, cinema creates a uniquely potent mode of queer worldliness, one that disrupts normative ways of being in the world and forges revised modes of belonging.
This encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video is a revealing, comprehensive and engrossing reference source that uncovers vast and previously unknown contributions by lesbians and gay men to the entertainment industry. This encyclopedia contains reviews of more than 3,000 films . It also includes brief biographies and photos of key actors, directors, writers, and other artists. Well-organized and indexed, it offers helpful listings (e.g. "lesbian," "gay," "transgender," "bisexual," etc.) and well-written descriptions.
This unique encyclopedia showcases the contribution of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer people to music, dance, and musical theater. An encyclopedia that is simultaneously entertaining and scholarly. Comprised of more than 200 well-indexed signed essays covering topics such as "Composers and Lyricists," "Set and Costume Design," and "Musical Films." Examples of the individuals cited range from Little Richard to Tchaikovsky and from Dusty Springfield to Hildegard of Bingen.
Call Number: UMCP Art Library Reference | N72.H64 Q44 2004
Approximately 200 alphabetically arranged articles, that end with bibliographies and cross references. Written by respective experts in subject fields that include painting, sculpture, architecture and photography.
The San Francisco International Lesbian & Gay Film Festival is the largest lesbian & gay media arts event in the world. This book draws on the expertise and resources of this festival, and contains more than 2000 catalogue entries. Information on more than 2000 short and feature films.
Guide to 62 contemporary (i.e., birthdates 1919-1970) U.S. gay male poets and dramatists. Entries include biographies, overview of major works, critical reception, essays on themes, and bibliographies.
Features excerpts from the work and details of the lives and times of 45 gay and lesbian writers. "Gives the researcher, student, and casual reader a 'collective experience' of insight". -- American Bookseller
A comprehensive literary encyclopedia comprised of more than 500 essays that range from information about individual writers to thematic and topical literature (e.g., AIDS literature, young-adult fiction, and coming-out stories) to international and cross-cultural issues (even Japanese, Middle Eastern, and Native North American literature).
Two-volume encyclopedia of almost 400 authors (novelists, poets, short story writers, dramatists, journalists, editors, filmmakers, performance artists, and nonfiction writiers) of gay/lesbian literature. Inclusion is based upon the thematic content of the author's work rather than on the sexual identity of the author, though most are gay or lesbian authors. Provides a wealth of information about each author (e.g. personal information, contact information, publications, biographies, interviews, bibliographies, personal quotes, etc.). of biographical essays, chronologies and bibliographies of 20th Century writers. Has a variety of helpful indexes.
Study of gay and lesbian detective fiction. Among ways in which the information is examined is by type of character (e.g. policeman, amateur detective, etc.) and by major themes (e.g. homophobia, gay marriage, etc.).
Few issues today cause more public - and private - debate than the interaction of homosexuality and religion. From the question of gay marriage to the place of gays and lesbians within faith communities, religious leaders and lay members must deal with these issues for now and for years to come. What is the historical position of the major denominations? How are people of faith balancing their beliefs? This encyclopedia provides an overview of the various attitudes and responses that religions have had to the presence of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered persons within their communities. This is the most comprehensive volume to date on the intersections between religion and homosexuality.
Offering much in-depth information often not found elsewhere, this excellent tool provides author biographies and critical extracts about each writer's works. Covers 19th and 20th Century American and British authors.
Not a collection of writings by lesbian writers, as one might assume; this is an anthology of works that explore the emergence and development of the "idea of lesbianism". This comprehensive volume cites hundreds of literary works by both female and male authors who look at the lesbian experience in many different ways: positive and negative, "salacious or satiric, sympathetic and confessional," etc.
Though published in 1982, this seminal work remains a useful source because it looks at works written before before gay characters appeared frequently in mainstream literature or before the current gay literary market had emerged. This bibliography cites approximately 4000 English- language novels, short stories, plays, and poems that deal with male homosexuality have gay male characters.
Harvey Milk was one of the first openly and politically gay public officials in the United States, and his remarkable activism put him at the very heart of a pivotal civil rights movement reshaping America in the 1970s. An Archive of Hope is Milk in his own words, bringing together in one volume a substantial collection of his speeches, columns, editorials, political campaign materials, open letters, and press releases, culled from public archives, newspapers, and personal collections. The volume opens with a foreword from Milk's friend, political advisor, and speech writer Frank Robins
Invaluable three-volume encyclopedia of more than 500 LGBTt topical and biographic entries that cover 400 years of U.S. history. Each entry ends with a bibliography and see references. This resource also has chronologies, a directory or repositories of LGBT materials, helpful outlines, and a detailed index. One of the most significant reference work in the field of LGBT Studies.
Annotated collection of documents, particularly legal materials, that serves as important source material in the history of glbt people in the U.S. from colonial times to the year 2000 Millennium March.
21 microfilm reels of the records of the Gay Activists Alliance. Important primary source materials to be used in research of the post-Stonewall burgeoning gay rights movement. (Important note: a printed reel guide to the set is located in McKeldin Reference under the call number: HQ75.12.G39 1998 Guide.)
"With contributions from prominent scholars in the field, this set chronicles the events and the people who have defined the GLBT experience since the mid-nineteenth century."-- Two volumes comprised of 283 essays, all between 2-3 pages in length.
"The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions." Includes a comprehensive chronology and bibliography.
(Note: E-BOOK--Available online. Click on the title to this entry to go directly to the online electronic book.)
A compilation of more than a hundred years of important speeches on gay and lesbian subjects. In the days when homosexuality was mentioned only in whispers, a few brave souls stood up to speak for the rights of sexual minorities. In Speaking for Our Lives: Historic Speeches and Rhetoric for Gay and Lesbian Rights (1892-2000), their stirring words have finally been gathered together, along with the political manifestoes, broadsheets, and performance pieces of the gay and lesbian liberation movement. Many of these documents have long been out of print. Speaking for Our Lives makes these noteworthy texts readily available to the broader public they deserve. This book preserves an essential part of twentieth-century history.
Source of the texts of important documents (e.g. statements, essays, letters, manifestos, speeches, etc.) in the history of same sex attraction. Documents are listed chronologically from 1754 to 1994, and are arranged in six sections, that deal respectively with: (1) male homosexuality in Europe during the Enlightenment and the French Revolution, (2) the beginnings of the gay and lesbian movement in Europe of the 1870's through 1940's United States, (3) gay/lesbian organizing of 1950-1969, (4) gay liberation and the lesbian-feminist movement, (5) the politics of AIDS, and (6) the present and future.
A uniquely authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the key men and women in the history of homosexuality from antiquity to the middle of the twentieth century. It includes biographies, with references, on figures - famous, notorious or unknown - in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia.
Although designed to provide health care professionals with a comprehensive overview of public health issues of lgbt clients, this handbook, full of useful bibliographies, is also an excellent tool for researchers. Among the general areas covered are the health care delivery system, the government and public health infrastructure, employers, the media, and specific health issues that are relevant to respective groups within the queer community.
This edited volume fills an important gap in health communication, exploring the significant disparities in access to health care and health coverage that LGBT individuals and their families face. With cutting-edge empirical research, the essays examine the social and structural factors that lead to the stigma and discrimination that LGBT populations experience.
This is the first concise handbook on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) health in the past few years. It breaks the myths, breaks the silence, and breaks new ground on this subject. This resource offers a multidimensional picture of LGBT health across clinical and social disciplines to give readers a full and nuanced understanding of these diverse populations. It contains real-world matters of definition and self-definition, meticulous analyses of stressor and health outcomes, a extensive coverage of research methodology concerns, and critical insights into the sociopolitical context of LGBT individuals' health and lives.
Examines medical and scientific debates about homosexuality during the past two centuries. This comprehensive resource explores the role of science and scientific discovery in the nature versus pathology debate surrounding homosexuality.
This pioneering study examines inequalities experienced by LGBT people in health care and considers the role of social work in addressing the inequity. The book is organized into three parts: the first provides a policy context in four countries, the second examines social work practice in tackling health inequalities, and the third considers research and pedagogic developments.
Private Practices examines the relationship between science, sexuality, gender, race, and culture in the making of modern America between 1920 and 1950, when contradictions among liberal intellectuals affected the rise of U.S. conservatism. Naoko Wake focuses on neo-Freudian, gay psychiatrist Harry Stack Sullivan, founder of the interpersonal theory of mental illness. She explores medical and social scientists' conflicted approach to homosexuality, particularly the views of scientists who themselves lived closeted lives.
Based on the diverse experiences of LGBTQ students and their allies, this essential volume brings together in one resource the major issues that schools must address to improve the educational outcomes for gender and sexual minority students, as well as all students. Many of these issues involve negative school-based experiences that teachers and administrators need to be aware of as they interact with students on a daily basis, including those that encourage dropping out, substane abuse, and disproportionate thoughts of suicide. This insightful work not only examines the challenges of discrimination, harassment, and alienation that LGBTQ youth face, but it also captures students' resilience and creativity in organizing against those challenges. The text includes teaching strategies, innovative projects, curricular revisions, and policy initiatives that have had positive effects on LGBTQ learning, aspirations, and school climate.
Jason Cianciotto and Sean Cahill, experts on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender public policy advocacy, combine an accessible review of social science research with analyses of school practices and local, state, and federal laws that affect LGBT students. In addition, portraits of LGBT youth and their experiences with discrimination at school bring human faces to the issues the authors discuss. This is an essential guide for teachers, school administrators, guidance counselors, and social workers interacting with students on a daily basis; school board members and officials determining school policy; nonprofit advocates and providers of social services to youth; and academic scholars, graduate students, and researchers training the next generation of school administrators and informing future policy and practice.
High impact strategies to improve student outcomes Positive systemic change begins when school leaders elevate understanding and propel schools toward safe and diverse-friendly environments. To combat anti-gay discrimination, educators often use silence, policy, legislation and compliance. This brave book maintains that building safe and welcoming schools begins not only with effective and appropriate policy but also with inside-out analysis of one's own beliefs and values. Resulting cultural proficiencies boost empathy and improve learning environments. On this simple premise, readers will find: - Inside-out growth through personal stories and case-studies - Reflection through activities appropriate for individuals and teams - Insight through current responses to bullying
Contemporary American colleges are increasingly queer places, where significant steps toward inclusion of BGLT students have been made. Tracing the journey of BGLT students' emergence, which parallels the modern gay rights movement in America, this monograph provides an overview of data and theory derived from studying BGLT students and student movements in higher education. Offering context for the ways that previously marginalized students in higher education survive and thrive, this issue.
The advancement of LGBT rights has occurred through struggles large and small-on the streets, around kitchen tables, and on the Web. Lawsuits have also played a vital role in propelling the movement forward, and behind every case is a human story: a landlord in New York seeks to evict a gay man from his home after his partner of ten years dies of AIDS; school officials in Wisconsin look the other way as a gay teenager is repeatedly and viciously harassed by other students; a lesbian couple appears unexpectedly at a clerk's office in Hawaii seeking a marriage license. Engaging and largely untold, From the Closet to the Courtroom explores how five pivotal lawsuits have altered LGBT history.
A groundbreaking volume surveying the contributions that gay and lesbian Americans have made to the democratic process. * A collection of relevant documents includes crucial court decisions, executive orders, declarations of principles, and the coming out statement of U.S. Representative Jim Kolbe * A resource list provides contact information for 80 national, state, and local organizations, and an annotated bibliography evaluates sources for further information
While homophobia is commonly characterized as individual and personal prejudice, this collection of essays instead explores homophobia as a transnational political phenomenon. Contributors theorize homophobia as a distinct configuration of repressive state-sponsored policies and practices with their own causes, explanations, and effects on how sexualities are understood and experienced in a range of national contexts. The essays include a broad range of geographic cases, including France, Ecuador, Iran, Lebanon, Poland, Singapore, and the United States.
Unique encyclopedia that looks at important and controversial issues that confront lgbt people in more than 80 countries. Each country's entry includes background information, an overview of respective LGBT issues, a detailed discussion of each issue, an outlook for the future, and a bibliography that includes Websites.
As Americans, we cherish the freedom to associate. However, with the freedom to associate comes the right to exclude those who do not share our values and goals. What happens when the freedom of association collides with the equally cherished principle that every individual should be free from invidious discrimination? This is precisely the question posed in Boy Scouts of America v. James Dale, a lawsuit that made its way through the courts over the course of a decade, culminating in 2000 with a landmark ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court.
For much of the 20th century, American gays and lesbians lived in fear that public exposure of their sexualities might cause them to be fired, blackmailed, or even arrested. Today, they are enjoying an unprecedented number of legal rights and protections. Clearly, the tides have shifted for gays and lesbians, but what caused this enormous sea change? In his gripping new book, Walter Frank offers an in-depth look at the court cases that were pivotal in establishing gay rights. But he also tells the story of those individuals who were willing to make waves by fighting for those rights, taking enormous personal risks at a time when the tide of public opinion was against them.