About Audio-Visual Recordings

Special Collections has a number of labor-related audio and video recordings. All original recordings must be digitally reformatted and accessed via Digital Collections.

See Record Group 97 in the Guide to Collections for more information on audio and visual material.

Many of these materials are stored off-site and require 5 days to be pulled.

Guides to Audio-Visual Records

Guide to Collections

This guide provides a comprehensive list of AFL-CIO collections that are open and available for research. Use ctrl+F to search for keywords within the guide.

Audio/Visual materials are contained in Record Group 97.

Indexes to AFL-CIO Audiotape Collections

This is a guide to AFL-CIO audiotapes, organized by date. All of the materials in this list are located at the University of Maryland. Only audio cassette copies will be available for listening in the Maryland Room. All other original recordings must be digitally reformatted and accessed via Digital Collections.

Films and Video Tapes for Labor

These are published guides containing films and video tapes related to labor. The guides include films produced by the AFL-CIO, other labor unions, or other producers. Search WorldCat and Digital Collections for films and video tapes that have been digitized. All other original recordings must be reformatted and viewed in Digital Collections.

Not all titles are held at the University of Maryland. Contact us for more information.

Recordings in Library Media Services

John F. Kennedy’s last words to labor [motion picture] / [producer, Telenews]
Call Number: HD8057 .J65 1964
An address given by President Kennedy on Nov. 15, 1963 to the delegates at the 5th AFL-CIO Constitutional Convention held in New York City. Kennedy is introduced by George Meany.
1 film reel (29 min.) : sd., b&w ; 16 mm.
Fourth constitutional convention AFL-CIO [motion picture] / produced and narrated by Harry Flannery in association with Hearst Metrotone News.
Call Number: HD8057 .F68 1962
This film documents an AFL-CIO convention that was held in December, 1961. Includes footage of speeches by George Meaney, President John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Eleanor Roosevelt.
1 film reel (22 min.) : sd., b&w ; 16 mm.

UMD's Library Media Services has a number of labor union films which are available for viewing with their equipment.

Selected material:

The Price of worker absenteeism in politics [motion picture]
Call Number: HD8055.A6 P74
The American work force must vote in order to be protected through legislation. This film focuses on the AFL-CIO Committee on Political Education, which is a spokesman for the union, and which conducts seminars, raises voter registration, and keeps a checklist on legislators’ performance.
1 film reel (14 min.) : sd., b&w ; 16 mm.
People and politics [motion picture] / produced by Joel O’Brien Productions, Inc. for the Committee on Political Education, AFL-CIO.
Call Number: HD6510 .P46 1960z
Discusses the history of organized labor’s involvement in politics in the United States. Stresses the importance of trade union members being politically active and voting.
1 film reel (28 min.) : sd., b&w ; 16 mm.

Labor History

How to Request Audio/Visual Materials

Contact us

Ready to visit us?