Skip to main content

Labor History

Find information about primary resources in Labor History as well as a variety of labor history subject guides and indexes.

Finding digital material

The materials available within Digital Collections include books and journals from the general collections, as well as many rare and unique materials.These materials represent only a fraction of the Libraries' collections. Some of our serial and periodicals have been digitized by the Internet Archive and can be found in their repository. Please contact us if you cannot find the resource you are looking for. 

Digital collections

Digitized Labor Publications

The following materials are available online.

Proceedings of the AFL-CIO Constitutional Convention

Currently, proceedings from 1991-2013 are available.  After 2001, the biennial convention changed to a quadrennial convention.  The full text is keyword searchable.  See the AFL-CIO website for web-based formats of these proceedings. 

CIO News

A publication produced by the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO).  Volumes 1-18 (1937-1955) are available; each volume can be searched separately by keyword.

AFL-CIO News

A publication produced by the AFL-CIO.  Volumes 1-41 (1956-1996) are available; each volume can be searched separately by keyword.

Proceedings of the biennial convention of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America

The full text for early proceedings is keyword searchable.

The Carpenter Magazine

A publication produced by the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of American of newsworthy events within the union.

The Lather

A publication produced by the Wood, Wire, and Metal Lathers' International Union.  Volumes 31-71 (1930-1971) are available; each volume can be searched separately by keyword.

Cigar Makers' Official Journal

Volumes 22-78 (1897-1954) and 87-96 (1963-1972) are available primarily in the HathiTrust Digital Library.  Select volumes are available in the Internet Archive.

Original cartoon

 

 

AFL-CIO Publications in the HathiTrust Digital Library:
Note: Access is Limited (search only) at most institutions

  • AFL News-Reporter
  • AFL-CIO Constitution
  • American Federationist
  • CIO Constitutional Proceedings
  • Economic Outlook
  • List of Affiliated Organizations
  • The National Economy
  • Proceedings of the AFL
  • Proceedings of the AFL-CIO
 

Archived Websites

Internet Archive

Search websites by URL address.

ArchiveIt

Search by keyword:

  • University of Maryland
  • Special Collections
  • Labor
  • Use the name of an institution

Find saved webpages for: