Skip to main content

Labor History

Find information about primary resources in Labor History as well as a variety of labor history subject guides and indexes.

About Labor Collections at UMD

The George Meany Memorial AFL-CIO Archive

Please be aware that a large number of these collections are closed to the public. Contact us for more information and to request access to materials.

Labor in America

A complete listing of all other labor collections at the University of Maryland.


Questions? Contact us for more information.

Labor Day Parade

How to Request Materials

Contact us

For detailed finding aids and information on labor materials.

Ready to visit us?

Submit a request for materials using your online Special Collections Account.

Instructions for Making Requests

For materials stored offsite, please request 5-10 business days in advance of your visit, otherwise we cannot guarantee you will have access when you visit. 

U.S. Union Programs and Affiliates

Guide to Collections

This guide provides a comprehensive list of AFL-CIO collections that are open and available for research. Use ctrl+F to search for keywords within the guide.

The following collections are open for research.

Contact us for detailed finding aids. Note: not all records are inventoried or processed.

American Federation of Women's Auxiliaries of Labor

Frontlash

International Labor Press

National Capital Area Trade Union Retirees Club

National Labor College

Trades Union Congress Papers

United Labor Policy Committee

The following collections are not yet open for research.

Contact us for more information and to request records to be opened.  The University of Maryland and the AFL-CIO are committed to opening closed records, however due to the volume of records and limited resources, this process may take up to a year to complete.  We are working through requests on a first come, first served basis.

Center for Working Capital

Coalition of Labor Union Women

Labor Institute for Public Affairs

National Association of Working Women

National Council of Senior Citizens

Union Privilege Benefit Program

Working America

Working for America Institute

International Union Records

Guide to Collections

This guide provides a comprehensive list of AFL-CIO collections that are open and available for research. Use ctrl+F to search for keywords within the guide.

The following collections are open for research.

Bakery, Confectionery and Tobacco Workers International Union archives

Cigar Makers' International Union archives

Cuba Company

Galaxy, Inc.

International Association of Siderographers archives

International Labor Communications Association archives

Tobacco Workers International Union (TWIU) archives 

Portions of the following collections are open for research.

Contact us for more detailed information about these collections.  The University of Maryland and the AFL-CIO are committed to opening closed records, however due to the volume of records and limited resources, this process may take up to a year to complete.  We are working through requests on a first come, first served basis.

African American Labor Center

American Center for International Labor Solidarity (Solidarity Center)

American Institute for Free Labor Development

Asian-American Free Labor Institute

Free Trade Union Institute

Trade Departments

Guide to Collections

This guide provides a comprehensive list of AFL-CIO collections that are open and available for research. Use ctrl+F to search for keywords within the guide.

Lists of collections by subject.

Railroad history

Shipping and Shipbuilding in Maryland

Portions of these collections are open for research.

Contact us for more detailed information about these collections.  The University of Maryland and the AFL-CIO are committed to opening closed records, however due to the volume of records and limited resources, this process may take up to a year to complete.  We are working through requests on a first come, first served basis.

Building and Construction Trades Department

Food and Allied Service Trades Department

Department for Professional Employees

Industrial Union Department

Maritime Trades Department

Metal Trades Department

Railway Employee’s Department

Transportation Trades Department

Union Label and Service Trades Department

Gordon W. Prange Collection

Gordon W. Prange Collection

Archive of Japanese print publications issued during the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949.  The Gordon W. Prange Collection includes Japanese print publications produced by grassroots labor unions during the first four years of the Allied Occupation, 1945-1949.

Personal papers of Gordon W. Prange

Personal and professional papers including unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, interview notes and transcripts, research notes, articles, maps, and photographs related to Prange's research on the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Battle of Midway, the Russian spy Richard Sorge, and the speeches of Adolf Hitler. Prange's tenure as a history professor at the University of Maryland; and Prange's service as an historian for the US Army under General Douglas MacArthur during the Allied occupation of Japan are also covered.