Skip to main content

Financial Literacy

Finding Articles

Databases are usually subscription-based electronic catalogs that integrate journal articles and other materials from a variety of sources into one place. To locate databases relevant to your topic, open Research Port, and search by database name or by subject area.  

Databases utilize sophisticated search engines to locate journal articles and other resources related to your research. Most offer advanced search options that will allow you to refine your search in a variety of ways to discover the most relevant materials on your topic. 

Virtual Business Information Center

The Virtual Business Information Center (VBIC) is a collection of electronic and print business resources intended to provide research assistance to users seeking authoritative business information.  It provides links to Internet resources and commercial databases, as well as some print sources available in the UMD libraries.

The VBIC site includes links to Internet resources and commercial databases, as well as some print sources available in the University of Maryland libraries. The site was initially developed in 1998 by Dr. Eileen Abels, a professor in the College of Information Studies, with support of the Robert H. Smith School of Business. Currently the site is maintained by the University of Maryland Libraries.

VBIC is under continual development, both in content and design, in order to respond to the information needs of the target audience. Please contact the VBIC team (Zaida Diaz - zdiaz@umd.edu and Lily Griner - griner@umd.edu) with any comments or suggestions for improvement.