Skip to main content

JOUR458M - Special Topics in Journalism: Sports, Protest and the Media

Guide to selected resources for students preparing the annotated bibliography required in Prof. Kevin Blackistone's JOUR458M class.

WorldCat UMD - Books and Other Library Materials

WorldCat UMD provides access to books, serial publications, media, visual materials and archival materials in the UM Libraries as well as those in the UM System and libraries worldwide. The following are some of the types of materials you can locate using WorldCat UMD:

  • Articles
  • Journal titles
  • DVDs
  • Government Documents
  • Historical Manuscripts
  • Print Books
  • E-Books
  • Sound Recordings
  • Dissertations
  • Music Scores
  • Internet Resources

For best results: use the Get Started link from the Library home page.

 

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) - first link below - provides searchable full-text of 24 major papers from the late 1800's to the mid-1900's.

The New York Times and Historical Black Newspapers are searched separately using the links below.

Individual links to The Washington Post and Wall Street Journal, which are included within the Historical Newspapers database, also appear below.

Selected Media Resources

In addition to searching WorldCat UMD for media held by the UM Libraries in DVD/VHS format, try the following sources for media:

Other Resources of Note

The following resources may also be useful for locating background information:

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Most databases, reference works, and e-journals are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Maryland.

In order to access databases and online journals remotely, use Database Finder. When prompted to select a campus, select the option for University of Maryland, College Park and then "Students, Faculty, and Staff". Then log in with your Directory ID, the same username you use for email and other campus services.