Skip to main content

Theater Collections at Special Collections in Performing Arts

A guide to theater collections and resources at Special Collections in Performing Arts at the University of Maryland.

Contact the Curator

If you would like more information about any of the collections featured here, please contact 

Vincent Novara

Curator for Special Collections in Performing Arts (SCPA)

vnovara@umd.edu

301.405.9220

Jackson Bryer Interviews Collection

Dr. Jackson R. Bryer is a Professor Emeritus of the University of Maryland’s Department of English, who has also worked with the Department of Theatre as an affiliate faculty member and literary advisor. The Jackson R. Bryer Interviews Collection covers the period from 1990 to 2004; the bulk of the materials date from 1991 to 1993, and 2002 to 2004. The collection consists of recorded interviews of notable figures from the theatre profession.

Finding Aid

Series 1: Audiocassette Interviews, 1990-2004, no date (twenty-one items)

  1. Marshall Mason - April 2 & 23, 1990 - Independence KS, Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer (three cassettes)
  2. Jean-Claude van Itallie - December 27, 1992 - Charlemont, MA - Interviewer: Gene A. Plunka
  3. A.R. Gurney - February 24 & March 24, 1993 - Chicago, IL - Interviewer: Arvid F. Sponberg
  4. Lanford Wilson - May 20, 1993 - Sag Harbor, NY - Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer (two cassettes)
  5. Ntozake Shange - December 10, 1993 - Philadelphia, PA - Interviewer: Mary Helen Washington
  6. Neil Simon - January 23, 1991 - Washington DC - Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer
  7. George C. Wolfe - December 01, 2001 - Public Theatre - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  8. Susan Stroman - July 18, 2002 - The New 42nd St. Studios - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  9. Pat Carroll - July 30, 2002 - Harwich Port, MA - Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer
  10. Jason Robert Brown - January 20 2004 - NY, NY - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison (two cassettes)
  11. Kathleen Marshall - January 27, 2004 - NYC - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison (two cassettes)
  12. John Weidman - February 9, 2004 - Dramatists' Guild - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  13. Stephen Sondheim - June 15, 2004 - NY, NY - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  14. Tommy Tune - June 30, 2003 - NYC - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison (two cassettes)
  15. Lynn Ahrens/Stephen Flaherty - December 8, 2003 - NY - Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison (two cassettes)
  16. David Henry Hwang, no date (two cassettes)
  17. Maureen Stapleton- July 13, 1995 – Lenox, MA - Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer
  18. Cherry Jones – May 24, 1996 – NY, NY – Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  19. Blythe Danner – August 25, 1997 – Wilmington, DE – Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  20. Nathan Lane – October 10, 1997 – NY, NY – Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison
  21. ulie Harris – October 2, 1999 – NY,NY – Interviewers: Jackson R. Bryer & Richard A. Davison

Series 2: Videocassette Interviews, 1992, no date (six items)

  1. [David Henry Hwang]. One-on-one Interview Two Shot Debbie & David – David CU's – TRT 90:00 – 2/15/92, Louisville, KY – Interviewer: Deborah Frockt
  2. [David Henry Hwang]. David H. Interview – tight shot only – One-on-one -tight shot David only – End discussion, Q&A, Close TRT: 90:00 – 2/15/92, Louisville, KY – Interviewer: Deborah Frockt
  3. "Neil Simon – Tapes 1-3" TRT: 60:00 - 5/29/92, Beverly Hills, CA – Interviewer: Jackson R. Bryer
  4. "Stacy Keach at the Smithsonia," 11/8/91 – Interviewer: Michael Kahn
  5. "Stacy Keach at the Smithsonian," 11/8/91 – Interviewer: Michael Kahn (two cassettes)