Research Guides: Agriculture and Natural Resources: Books

ACS symposium series The ACS Symposium Series contains high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. Information about this series is available at http://pubs.acs.org/series/symposium, where users can also perform searches of the volumes by citation, author, topic, or volume." Access to volumes from 1974-2011.
EBSCO eBook Collection A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Collection strengths include computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, and civil rights law and history.
Knovel Knovel's collection includes over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 70 leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASME and NACE. Content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
OECD iLibrary The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases. NOTE: Even though current access to the database ended on August 31, 2018, since we have perpetual access rights to OECD, there will be content available, covering 1998-2018. Please see this LibAnswer FAQ for further information.
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. In order to view, copy, or print you will need to install the ebrary Reader software. Links to download the reader are available from the main page after you connect. Truncation is not supported. Searches in ISSN, ISBN, and Year are done as Text searches. All searches report 'Hits were found' rather than the number of hits. Boolean NOT and OR searches are not supported.
Sage Reference Collection Online versions of published reference works from SAGE. Browse All Titles (from top menu) to find Science topical materials
Springer eBooks (2005-2011) Over 30,000 Springer print book publications from 2005-2011, with search capabilities and bookmarks.
World Scientific eBooks Titles in the collection span a wide variety of subjects: Mathematics, Physics/Nonlinear Science, Chemistry/Materials Science/Nanotechnology, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Medicine and Healthcare, Life Sciences, Business and Economics, General and Popular Science, Social Sciences and Asian Studies.

Finding an eBook in the Libraries' Catalog

When searching the catalog, you can narrow down your results to only show eBooks. On the left-hand column, find the Format section and click on the check box next to eBooks. If you don't see eBooks listed as an option, you may need to click the See All button to view all available formats.

Once you find an eBook you would like to access, you can click on either the View online button or the View eBook link under the Availability menu:

Clicking on the view link will bring you to the vendor or eBook publisher's website. (The example below is a Springer eBook.) Most publishers will give you an option to download the eBook as either a PDF, ePub, or other format.

Note: Some eBook providers require you to have Adobe Digital Editions, a free software, to download and view eBooks.