Skip to main content

Using Special Collections and University Archives

This guide provides information on using materials from Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland.

Requesting Photocopies and Scans

 

FOR RESEARCHERS CONSULTING BOOKS

- You may use a digital camera to take photographs in the Maryland Room.  Flash photography is not permitted.

- You may use the overhead scanner in the Maryland Room to scan books to a USB drive at no cost. If you choose to print paper copies, the cost is $0.10 per page for black & white copies.

- To request scans or photocopies of special collections materials using your Special Collections Research Account.

  • Locate the materials you would like to have copied in the catalog/finding aid. Then select 'Request from Special Collections'.
  • You will be prompted to sign in to your Special Collections Research Account.  Don't have an account? You can register online.
  • Select 'Switch to Reproductions Order' at the top of the screen and fill out the form. Special Collection staff will contact you to arrange payment.

- Consult our duplication policies online for pricing, citation guidelines, and more.

 

FOR RESEARCHERS CONSULTING MANUSCRIPTS

- You may use a digital camera to take photographs in the Maryland Room.  Flash photography is not permitted.

- All photocoping and scanning of archival material must be done by special collection staff. You can place copy order through your online research account, or ask the reference librarian for assistance.

- To request scans or photocopies of special collections materials using your Special Collections Research Account.

  • Locate the materials you would like to have copied in the catalog/finding aid. Then select 'Request from Special Collections'.
  • You will be prompted to sign in to your Special Collections Research Account.  Don't have an account? You can register online.
  • Select 'Switch to Reproductions Order' at the top of the screen and fill out the form. Special Collection staff will contact you to arrange payment.

- Consult our duplication policies online for pricing, citation guidelines, and more.

 

FOR RESEARCHERS CONSULTING MICROFILM

- You may scan for free to a USB using the digital microfilm reader. If you choose to print paper copies, the cost is $0.10 per page for black & white copies. Consult the instructions for using the digital microfilm reader.