Skip to main content

Using Special Collections and University Archives

This guide provides information on using materials from Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland.

Requesting Materials

Once you have a registered for a Special Collections Research Account, you may request Special Collections and University Archives material online or in the Maryland Room from any computer.  Follow these steps:
 

TO REQUEST MATERIALS FROM THE ONLINE CATALOG:

- Locate the materials you would like to view in the Libraries' online catalog. For example:

 

 

- Click on the 'Request from Special Collections' link located in the catalog record.

- You will be prompted to sign in to your Special Collections Research Account.  Don't have an account? You can register online.

- Once you sign in, a request page will appear with the item's information. Verify that the information is correct.  Please be sure to note any volume or issue numbers you would like to see.

  • Do you want to request copies instead of requesting to view the materials in the reading room? Select 'Switch to Reproductions Order' at the top and fill out the form.

- Schedule your visit by selecting what day you would like to come to the reading room to view the item.

- Click on the 'Submit Request' link to send your request to special collections staff. You can monitor the status of your request online using your Aeon account. 

 

TO REQUEST MATERIALS FROM AN ARCHIVAL FINDING AID:

- Locate the material you would like to view in ArchivesUM. For example:

 

 

Click on the 'Request from Special Collections' link located in the finding aid.

- You will be prompted to sign into your Special Collections Research Account. Don't have an account? You will be able to register online.

- Once you sign in, a request page will appear.  Select which boxes you would like to view in the reading room. 

  • Do you want to request copies instead of requesting to view the materials in the reading room? Select 'Switch to Reproductions Order' at the top and fill out the form.

- Schedule your visit by selecting what day you would like to come to the reading room to view the materials.

- Click on the 'Submit Request' link to send your request to special collections staff. You can monitor the status of your request online using your research account. 

TIPS

  • You may request up to 15 books or boxes  at a time. Need more? Don't worry, you can make additional requests when you visit the reading room.
  • You can check the status of your requests from your Special Collections Research Account, and verify that materials have been placed on hold before your visit to the reading room.