Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More by
Adding graphic novels to your library collection is a surefire way to boost circulation and build customer loyalty. But with thousands of graphic novels being published annually and no sign of a slowdown, how do you determine which graphic novels to purchase, and which to recommend to teen and adult readers? This guide is intended to help you start, update, or maintain a graphic novel collection and advise readers about the genre. It covers more than 2,400 titles, including series titles, and organizes them according to genre, subgenre, and theme-from super-heroes and adventure to crime, humor, and nonfiction. Reading levels, awards/recognition, and core titles are identified; and tie-ins with gaming, film, anime, and television are noted. Grade 6 through adult. In addition, it will cite resources for learning more about the genre, and provide information on awards. Hundreds of images illustrate the guide.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Graphic Novels by
This title acknowledges the explosion in graphic publishing, including titles on every possible topic, for every age group, spanning avant-garde experimentation through traditional retellings of classics.
Graphic Novels: Everything You Need to Know by
Graphic novels, long stories told in comics format, have enjoyed the fastest-growing sales of any category of book in the U.S. over the last four years. This modern renaissance of comics has produced a library of substantial works, whose subjects are not confined to superheroes or fantasy but are as varied and sophisticated as the best films and literature. Graphic Novels presents an accessible, entertaining, and highly illustrated guide to the diversity of contemporary comics in book form. Featuring striking graphics and explanatory extracts from a wide range of graphic novels, the book examines the specific language of the comics medium; the history and pioneers of the form; recent masterpieces from Art Spiegelman's Maus to Chris Ware's Jimmy Corrigan; the impact of Japanese manga and European albums translated into English; how artists have overcome prejudices towards the genre; and the ambitious range of themes and issues artists are addressing, including childhood, war and survival, politics, the future, sexuality, and the supernatural.
Graphic novels are interfiled with the rest of the Libraries' collections, so there's no one place to look for them. Here are a few suggestions:
- Browse the UMD Libraries Comics & Graphic Novels list in WorldCat for a (mostly) complete listing of what we have.
- Search WorldCat for items by title or creator (author or artist). You can also use the subject term "Graphic Novels," though this will return both graphic novels and books about graphic novels.
- Browse the Popular Reading Collection (on the first floor of McKeldin Library) which contains some recent graphic novels.
- Browse over 2,000 Japanese comic books published between 1945 and 1949. They are digitized and available full-text when onsite at UMD’s College Park campus. The comic books are housed at the Gordon W. Prange Collection.
Latino U. S. A. by 
Wimbledon Green: The Greatest Comic Book Collector in the World by 
Palestine by 