Skip to main content

Basic Resources for Finding U.S. Government Documents

This guide lists resources for locating U.S. government documents.

What is ERIC?

NOTE: The provider for the ERIC database has disabled access to full-text content for items with ED accession numbers due to privacy concerns and is working to make content available again. For most records prior to 2004, users must access ERIC materials at McKeldin Library.

ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The ERIC collection contains journal articles, books, research and technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.

ERIC indexes education journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. Many of the journals are indexed comprehensively, meaning that ERIC provides a record for each article in each issue, though some are indexed selectively to include only education-related articles. Journal records typically include bibliographic data (author, title, date, journal citation, publisher) and an abstract of the work.

Search ERIC

You can search ERIC through the University of Maryland's EBSCOHost interface. Use the search box below or link to ERIC in Research Port here (requires UMD login and password).

Access to the ERIC database is also provided on its Web site, free to the public: www.eric.gov

Search ERIC in EBSCO
Limit Your Results

Finding ERIC Materials on UMCP's Campus

With many online full-text ERIC records currently disabled because of privacy concerns (see box above), users are encouraged to use the ERIC collection at McKeldin Library. Some ERIC materials are traditional paper records, but the majority of the ERIC collection is on microfiche.

Microfiche that begins with the call number ED 1.310/2: can be found in the Periodicals Department on the 1st floor (see "MICROFORMS" near the top of the image below). The remainder of the ERIC microfiche is in the Government Information area on the 4th floor, near the maps cases.

Note: the majority of the ERIC microfilm is in the Periodicals section. Ask at the Information Desk for help locating microfiche and using the readers.


You can view a floor plan of McKeldin Library here.